Birkin, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Yorkshirego to Yorkshire Parishes go to West Riding go to Birkin

Birkin, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barkstone-Ash
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Pontefract PLU
Registration District Pontefract; Selby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1649
Bishop's Transcripts: 1631
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BIRKIN (St. Mary), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of  Birkin, West Haddlesey, Chapel- Haddlesey, Temple-Hurst, and Hurst-Courtney;  A chapel of ease was erected, in 1836, at Chapel Haddlesey, The Wesleyan Methodists have small places of worship at Chapel Haddlesey and Temple-Hurst.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from the parish registers of Birkin exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org

BIRKIN PARISH (1651) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1651-1699, 1718-1873

1654-1698, 1718-1901

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1649.


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 23 December 2013.


{

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,784 times.