Birtle cum Bamford, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Birtle cum Bamford, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Birtle St John the Baptist contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg

Contents

Chapelry History

BIRTLE, or sometimes known as Birtle-cum-Bamford, or Bircle, a township, in the parish of Middleton, union of Bury, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 2½ miles east by northeast from Bury. A chapel of ease was built in 1846. The Wesleyan Methodists and Primitive Methodists have places of worship; and there is a Sunday school, established in 1833.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Birtle chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Middleton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


BIRTLE ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1846) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1846-1910 1857-1935 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1854-1925 None 
MIDDLETON ST LEONARD PARISH (1541) Indexes (ancient parish containing BIRTLE Chapelry) 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1541-1752

1541-1752; 1813-1818;  1828-1830

1609-1678; 1805-1819; 1827-1832; 1838-1847; 1865-1874

LOPC  1695-1874  1541-1836  1541-1874
LBMD  None  1837-1974 None 
FMP None 1541-1752 None
AC 1541-1752 1541-1752 1541-1752
FREG 1541-1630, 1653-1729 1541-1644, 1658-1729 1641-1729


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Birtle and comprising the whole ancient parish of Middleton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MIDDLETON PARISH page.


The Family History Library has the Chapelry registers of baptisms and burials from 1846 to 1940.

Baptisms, 1846-1926

Burials, 1846-1981

Marriages, 1854-1940.

These are available on FHL British film #1751643 Items 1 - 5

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306928.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53023 British History online

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 263-267. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 June 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 2,419 times.