Bishop's Cannings, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Bishop's Cannings, Wiltshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bishop's Cannings, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Potterne and Cannings
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Devizes PLU
Registration District Devizes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1591
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Avebury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CANNINGS, BISHOP'S (St. Mary), a village, a parish, and a subdistrict, in the district of Devizes, Wiltshire. The village stands on the Kent and Avon canal, 1½ mile S of Wans Dyke, and 3 miles NE of Devizes railway station. The parish includes the tythings of Bourton, Easton, Chittoe, Coate, and Horton, and the chapelry of St. James or Southbroom. There is a Roman Catholic chapel at Court House.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bishop's Cannings parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
BISHOP'S CANNINGS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885


IGI 1591-1885 1591-1895
JOIN
1591-1812

NIM 1591-1840
1591-1837
1591-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464201.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 497-501 Date accessed: 14 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 16:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,530 times.