Bishop's Hatfield, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Bishop's Hatfield, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broadwater
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Hatfield PLU
Registration District Hatfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hertford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hatfield, Bishop's (St. Etelreda), is a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Broadwater, county of Hertford, 7 miles (W.S.W.) from Hertford, and 19 miles (N.N.W.) from London, on the great north road. As of 1848 there was a place of worship for Independents.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bishop's Hatfield, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[3]
Bishop's Hatfield, Hertfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1848-1950 1848-1950
HERTS To 1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288826.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hatfield on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 5 March 2014.
  3. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2014, at 15:46.
  • This page has been accessed 723 times.