Bishop's Hull, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png SomersetGotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Bishop's Hull, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bishop's Hull, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Taunton and Taunton-Dean
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Taunton PLU
Registration District Taunton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Taunton
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HULL, BISHOP'S (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Taunton, hundred of Taunton and Taunton-Dean, county of Somerset, 1½ mile (W.) from the town of Taunton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Church records

Bishop's Hull, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[8]
BISHOP'S HULL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1562-1812

FREG 1735-1855
1562-1860
1735-1860
JOIN
1562-1812

MARR
1562-1864

NBI

1735-1895
PALL
1790-1812

WEST 1735-1855
1562-1860
1735-1860
Church records on microfilm

Online Parish Clerks

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474604.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/BishopsHull/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 19 February 2014.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 August 2014, at 16:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,443 times.