Bishop's Lydeard, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png SomersetGotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Bishop's Lydeard, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bishop's Lydeard, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Kingsbury
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Taunton PLU
Registration District Taunton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Taunton
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean and Chapter of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LYDEARD, BISHOP'S (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Taunton, W. division of the hundred of Kinsbury and of the county of Somerset, 5 miles (N. W.) from Taunton. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Church records

Bishop's Lydeard, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[7]
BISHOP'S LYDEARD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1595-1638, 1701-1865
1595-1638, 1701-1838
1595-1638, 1701-1865
JOIN
1701-1837

MARR
1598-1837

NBI

1623-1949
SOPC 1701-1865
1701-1838
1701-1865
WEST
1781-1850

Online Parish Clerks

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474601.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/BishopsLydeard/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 13 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  7. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 August 2014, at 16:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,265 times.