Bishop's Wood, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Bishop's Wood, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bishop's Wood, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greytree; St Briavells
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Ross PLU
Registration District Ross
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ross
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BISHOP'S-WOOD, a liberty, in the township and parish of Brewood, union of Penkridge, E. division of the hundred of Cuttlestone, S. division of the county of Stafford, 2½ miles (W. by N.) from Brewood.[1]


Bishop's Wood was created as an ecclesiastical parish in 1845 from part of Walford, Herefordshire and Ruardean, Gloucestershire, both ancient parishes.It refers to that part of the parish of All Saints Bishop's Wood or Bishop's Wood, Herefordshire. BISHOPSWOOD, a chapelry in Walford and Ruardean parishes, Hereford; on the river Wye, 3¼ miles SSW of Ross r. station

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bishop's Wood, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[2]
Bishop's Wood, Gloucestershire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DEAN 1841-2006 1846-2006 1845-2006

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288776.

See Gloucestershire Census

Poor Law Unions

Ross Poor Law Union,Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 267-270. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 7 March 2014. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,278 times.