Bishopsteignton, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Bishopsteignton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bishopsteignton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Exminster
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kenn
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TEIGNTON, BISHOP'S (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Exminster, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon,1¾ mile (W. by N.) from West Teignmouth. The church, which has been lately renovated and repewed, is principally in the Norman style, with an enriched western doorway in excellent preservation; near it are the remains of an ancient chapel, and there was formerly a chapel at Venn, in the parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
BISHOPSTEIGNTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1811-1874 None None None None None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241310.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-314. Date accessed: 24 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,595 times.