Blackburn St Paul, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Blackburn St Paul, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blackburn St Paul, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Blackburn PLU
Registration District Blackburn; Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1792
Bishop's Transcripts: 1830
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackburn
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

The chapelry of (St Paul) Blackburn was created by the year 1792 and stood in the civil parish of St Mary Blackburn. In the town are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Warrenites, also a Scottish kirk and a Roman Catholic chapel; and in the rural parts of the parish are various other meeting-houses for different denominations.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Blackburn St. Paul chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of <a href="Blackburn St Mary, Lancashire">Blackburn St. Mary</a> to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BLACKBURN ST PAUL Chapelry  (1792) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1792-1888 1854-1900 None
LOPC 1792-1825, 1877-1900 1854-1873, 1878-1884, 1892-1900 1811-1900
LBMD None 1854-1955 None
BLACKBURN ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH (1600) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1600-1910 1600-1704, 1720-1900 1720-1900
LOPC 1600-1611, 1614-1628, 1653-1848, 1854-1881 1600-1680, 1698-1705, 1722-1900 1651-1652, 1746-1900
LBMD 1837-1885 1837-1957 1837-1885
FMP None 1600-1705 None
AC 1600-1660 1600-1660 1600-1660
BLACKBURN ALL SAINTS Chapelry  (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1872-1981 None
BLACKBURN CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry  (1859) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1860-1975 None
BLACKBURN HOLY TRINITY Chapelry  (1848) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1854-1980 None
BLACKBURN ST BARNABAS Chapelry  (1876) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1887-1951 None
BLACKBURN ST JOHN Chapelry  (1825) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1825-1853
None None
LOPC 1847-1853 None 1847-1853
LBMD None 1854-1974 None
BLACKBURN ST JUDE Chapelry  (1901) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1915-1962 None
BLACKBURN ST LUKE BANK TOP Chapelry  (1861) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1861-1897 1878-1900 None
LOPC 1861-1900 1878-1900 None
LBMD None None None
BLACKBURN ST MATTHEW HIGHER AUDLEY Chapelry  (1886) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1887-1970 None
BLACKBURN ST PETER Chapelry  (1821) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1821-1922 1854-1891, 1903-1919 1821-1866, 1869-1947
LBMD None 1854-1973 None
BLACKBURN ST PHILIP Chapelry  (1880) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1888-1900 1881-1900 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
BLACKBURN ST SILAS Chapelry  (1885) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1901-1983 None
BLACKBURN ST THOMAS Chapelry  (1865) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1866-1900 1866-1900 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1866-1980 None
BAMBER BRIDGE ST SAVIOUR Chapelry  (1761) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1761-1807, 1837-1900 1761-1806, 1839-1900 1761-1806, 1838-1900
LOPC 1837-1900 1839-1900 1838-1900
LBMD None 1839-1991 None
BALDERSTONE ST LEONARD Chapelry  (1751) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1751-1891 1855-1900 1813-1815, 1848-1850
LOPC 1751-1934 1838-1900 1785-1900, 1906-1981
LBMD None 1838-1995 None
BILLINGTON-LANGHO ST LEONARD Chapelry  (1725) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1816-1846 None 1816-1846
LOPC 1725-1921 1837-1921 1765-1901
LBMD 1837-1964 1837-2003 1837-1964
AC Various Years Various Years Various Years
BROOKHOUSE ST JAMES Chapelry  (1874) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1874-1907 1875-1912 None
LBMD None None None
BROWNHILL ST GABRIEL (1828) Chapelry  Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
COPY NOOK ST THOMAS Chapelry  (1865) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1865-1900 1866-1900 None
LBMD None None None
DAISYFIELD ST MICHAEL Chapelry  (1848) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1848-1854 None None
LBMD None None None
FENISCLIFFE ST FRANCIS Chapelry  (1887) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1887-1909 None None
LBMD None 1894-1992 None
FENISCOWLES IMMANUEL Chapelry  (1836) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1836-1890 1879-1900 None
LOPC 1836-1900 1838-1900 None
LBMD None 1838-2007 None
GREAT HARWOOD ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry  (1547) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1547-1901 1560-1920 1560-1901
LOPC 1563-1728, 1739-1901 1547-1900 1813-1900
LBMD 1837-1969 1837-1992 1837-1969
AC 1547-1812 1547-1812 1547-1812
LARK HILL HOLY TRINITY Chapelry  (1848) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1848-1854 None None
LBMD None None None
LITTLE HARWOOD ST STEPHEN Chapelry  (1892) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1892-1899 None None
LBMD None None None
LIVESEY ST ANDREW Chapelry  (1877) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1877-1924 1877-1919 None
LBMD None None None
LOWER DARWEN ST JAMES Chapelry  (1829) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS


LOPC 1829-1832 None 1829-1832
LBMD None 1838-1981 None
MELLOR ST MARY Chapelry  (1829) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1829-1901 1837-1900 None
LOPC 1829-1908 1837-1900 1830-1900
LBMD 1837-1964 1837-2010 1837-1964
MELLOR-BROOK ST SAVIOUR Chapelry  (1836) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1836-1858 None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
OVER DARWEN ST JAMES Chapelry  (1781) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1813-1836, 1847-1851 None 1829-1836, 1847-1851
LOPC 1781-1814, 1816-1836, 1847-1851 None 1782-1814, 1816-1836, 1847-1851
LBMD None None None
OVER DARWEN ST CUTHBERT Chapelry  (1872) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1872-1900 1878-1900 None
LBMD None None None
OVER DARWEN HOLY TRINITY (later known as ST PETER) Chapelry  (1829) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1829-1890 1837-1882 1829-1834, 1857-1861
LBMD None None None
OVER DARWEN ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry  (1864) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1864-1900 1865-1879, 1899-1900 None
LBMD None None None
OVER DARWEN LOWER Chapelry  (1751) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1751-1794, 1796-1838, 1852-1884 None 1785-1819
LBMD None None None
RAMSGRAVE Chapelry Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
SALESBURY ST PETER Chapelry  (1807) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1807-1901 1842-1900 None
LOPC None 1843-1900 None
LBMD None 1843-1989 None
SAMLESBURY ST LEONARD THE LESS Chapelry  (1634) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1634-1638, 1663-1900 1635-1638, 1663-1900 1816-1845
LOPC 1722-1900 1685-1754, 1778-1900 1722-1900
LBMD None 1837-1998 None
FMP None 1685-1837 None
TOCKHOLES ST STEPHEN Chapelry  (1775) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1777-1856 1841-1900 1785-1900
LOPC 1777-1900 1840-1900 1775-1900
LBMD None 1840-1993 None
WALTON-LE-DALE ST LEONARD Chapelry  (1609) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1609-1854, 1872-1889 1609-1637, 1654-1848 1809-1894
LOPC 1751-1760, 1807-1831, 1839-1854, 1871-1900 1751-1760, 1807-1812, 1815-1848 1751-1760, 1807-1812, 1815-1889
LBMD 1837-1974 None 1837-1974
AC 1609-1812 1609-1812 1609-1812
WITTON ST MARK Chapelry  (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None 1897-1900 None
LOPC 1838-1901 1854-1897 1843-1895
LBMD 1837-1905 1854-1989 1837-1905
WITTON ST PHILIP Chapelry  (1881) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1888-1900 1881-1900 None
LBMD None 1881-1974 None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Blackburn St Paul's Chapelry and comprising the whole ancient parish of Blackburn St. Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BLACKBURN ST MARY PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306890.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 270-275.Date Accessed 25 November 2103.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,200 times.