Blackley St Peter, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Blackley St Peter, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blackley St Peter, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Prestwich PLU
Registration District Manchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1870
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BLACKLEY (St. Peter), a chapelry, in the parish and union of Manchester, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3½ miles (N. N. E.) from Manchester, on the road to Middleton and Rochdale. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Unitarians. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online records

Online transcriptions and indexes exist for Blackley St Peter's Chapelry and its sister chapelry, St Nadrews, as well as for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys to which these chapelries were attached. The web site links to the online data are listed below; note the range of years available:

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
BLACKLEY ST PETER  ("BLACKLEY CHAPEL") Chapel of Ease (1655) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1655-1812 1655-1812 1655-1812
AC 1813-1907 1813-1895 1813-1892
FS 1655-1907 1655-1752;1838-1895 (part.) 1655-1892
LOPC 1655-1870 1668-1752; 1838-1895 1655-1892
LBMD 1837-1936  1838-1983 1837-1884
FMP None 1668-1753 1837-1884
BLACKLEY ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1866) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1866-1936  1866-1990 1866-1884
BLACKLEY HOLY TRINITY Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1908-1930

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all of the (over 150) chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral), and links to all the online transcriptions/indexes to each, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records Parish registers for St. Peter's Church, Blackley, 1655-1896 Microfilm of original records formerly held in the Manchester Central Library, Manchester.
Blackley is a chapelry in the parish of Manchester.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M 441/1/1/1-2, 4; M 441/1/3/1-4; M 441/1/4/1; M 441/1/5/1-4.

FamilySearch has also microfilmed these original chapelry (parish) registers as follows:

Contents
Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1655-1716. Baptisms, burials, 1714-1783; marriages, 1714-1752. Baptisms, burials, 1783-1821. Baptisms, 1822-September 1835.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356551 Items 5 - 8
Baptisms, August 1835-1907. Marriages, 1838-1895. Burials, 1813-1855.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356552
Burials, 1855-1892.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356553 Items 1 - 2
Baptisms, 1754-1870; burials, 1754-1880 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
559152
Baptisms, 1753-1870 (another filming). Burials, 1754-1880 (another filming). Marriages, 1838-1895 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
2148000
Marriages, 1838-1896.
FHL BRITISH Film
559153


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438731.


Poor Law Unions

Prestwich Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Blackley on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 270-275. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,913 times.