Blackpool St John, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Blackpool St John, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blackpool St John, Lancashire
St John the Evangelist, Blackpool Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Fylde PLU
Registration District Fylde
Records begin
Parish registers: 1821
Bishop's Transcripts: 1826
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BLACKPOOL (St. John the Evangelist), a chapelry and bathing-place, in the township of Layton with Warbrick, parish of Bispham, union of the Fylde, hundred of Amounderness,N. division of the county of Lancaster, 4 miles (S. W.by W.) from Poulton, 19 (W. by N.) from Preston, and 25 (S. W. by W.) from Lancaster. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; and a free school, established in 1817, is conducted on Dr. Bell's plan. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Blackpool chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bispham to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BLACKPOOL ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1821) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1821-1900 1836-1900 None
LOPC 1821-1890 1836-1900 w/ banns 1821-1898
LBMD 1890-1919, 1962-1963 1837-1974 1890-1919
BISPHAM ALL HALLOWS PARISH (1599) Indexes (ancient parish containing BLACKPOOL Chapelry)
Baptisms       Marriages Burials 
FS 1599-1754 1631-1837 None
LOPC 1599-1900 1631-1900 1632-1900
LBMD None 1837-1970 None
FMP None 1631-1857 None
AC 1601-1811 1601-1811 1601-1811


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Blackpool and comprising the whole ancient parish of Blackpool to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BISPHAM PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306886.


Poor Law Unions

Fylde Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

 

Websites

Blackpool on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 270-275. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 14:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,093 times.