Blacktoft, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Blacktoft, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png East Riding Gotoarrow.png Blacktoft

Guide to Blacktoft, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blacktoft, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Howdenshire
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Howden
Registration District Howden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1700
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Durham within the Jurisdiction of Howden and Howdenshire
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History

BLACKTOFT (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Howden, wapentake of Howdenshire, East Riding York; comprising the hamlet of Staddlethorpe and the townships of Blacktoft and Scalby, in which latter is included the extra-parochial place of Cheapsides. Church of England records began in 1700. The village is situated on the northern bank of the Ouse, one mile above its confluence with the Trent, and occasionally vessels ride opposite to it, its roads affording the best anchorage between Hull and Selby.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Blacktoft exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS =
JOIN = - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
BLACKTOFT PARISH (1700) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700-1836



FREG 1639-1812 1700-1812 1639-1812
FS 1700-1877



HATH 1700-1812



IARC 1700-1812
1700-1812 1700-1812





To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1700.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England publ. London: 1831. Adapted. Accessed November 7, 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire East Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 20 October 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 May 2015, at 20:25.
  • This page has been accessed 3,473 times.