Bland County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Bland County
Guide to Bland County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Bland County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1861 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Bland |
| Courthouse | |
Bland County Virginia Courthouse
Bland County Courthouse
612 Main Street, Suite 104
Bland, VA 24315
Phone: 540-688-4562
Clerk Circuit court has marriage, probate and land records 1861
and divorce records from 1900[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1861 | 1861 | 1861 | 1870 | 1861 | 1861 |
Bland County Virginia History
The county was named after Richard Bland (1710-1776), Virginia delegate to the Continental Congress in 1774 and 1775.[2]
Parent County
1861--Bland County was created 30 March 1861 from Giles, Tazewell and Wythe Counties.
County seat: Bland [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Bland County Virginia Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- Dorman, John Frederick. "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Bland County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1961):77-78. Available at New England Ancestors ($).
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Cemeteries
For a more detailed list, including addresses and external links, see Bland County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Bland County: [4]
|
|
|
Census
For tips on accessing Bland County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1870 | 4,000 | — |
| 1880 | 5,004 | 25.1% |
| 1890 | 5,129 | 2.5% |
| 1900 | 5,497 | 7.2% |
| 1910 | 5,154 | −6.2% |
| 1920 | 5,593 | 8.5% |
| 1930 | 6,031 | 7.8% |
| 1940 | 6,731 | 11.6% |
| 1950 | 6,436 | −4.4% |
| 1960 | 5,982 | −7.1% |
| 1970 | 5,423 | −9.3% |
| 1980 | 6,349 | 17.1% |
| 1990 | 6,514 | 2.6% |
| 2000 | 6,871 | 5.5% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
Church Records
Court Records
Chancery Court
- Indexed images of Bland County, Virginia Chancery Records 1874-1928 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. The online indexes continues from 1928 through 1938, but at present does not include images. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[5]
Genealogy
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
Military
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Bland County, p. 64.]
Civil War
Bland County men most often served in regiments (and companies) from their home county. At times, however, individuals and small groups can be found serving in regiments from neighboring counties. Later in the war, Confederate units often reorganized.
- History of Bland County (Virginia).Radford, Virginia: Commonwealth Press, 1961, that includes names of units from this county and a roster of the men who served in these units on pages 259-277.975.5765 H2b Pages 275-276 lists very small groups of Bland County soldiers who served in other regiments.
- - 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (Bland Rangers)[6]
- - 36th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).
- - 45th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Sharpshooters).[7]
- - 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[8]
- - 51st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (or K).[9]
Newspapers
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Bland County, Virginia newspapers.
Probate Records
Taxation
- 1890 - Smith, Denise A. 1890 Bland County, Virginia Property Tax Records. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2004. FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Vital Records
Indexes to Bland County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Birth
- 1861-1896 - Fridley, Beth, comp. Bland County, Virginia Births: 1861-96 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2000. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Marriage
- 1861-1929 - Bland County Marriage Index 1861-1929. Batch M868575 at FamilySearch - free.[10]
- 1861-1929 - Bland County Marriage Index 1861-1929. Batch M868557 (broken link) at FamilySearch - free.[10]
Vital Record Substitutes
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Bland County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Bland County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Bland Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List
Bland County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bland County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia Contributors, "Bland County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bland_County, accessed 13 January 2012.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ USGS Map, Topozone.com
- ↑ "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
- ↑ Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 45th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 58.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- ↑ James A. Davis, 51st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 9; A Guide to Virginia Military Organization 1861-1865, 287.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 20:54.
- This page has been accessed 2,979 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




