Bleckley County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bleckley County, Georgia)

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow.png  Bleckley County

Guide to Bleckley County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Bleckley County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Bleckley County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded July 30, 1912
County Seat Cochran
Address Bleckley County Courthouse
112 North Second St.
Cochran, GA 31014
Phone: 912.934.3200
Bleckley County Website


County Courthouse

Bleckley County Courthouse
112 North Second St.
Phone: 912.934.3200

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate, court and land records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
112 N. Second Street
P.O. Box 272
Cochran, GA 31014
Phone: (478) 934-3210
Fax: (478) 934-6671

Probate Court of Bleckley County
112 North 2nd Street
Cochran, GA 31014
Phone: 478-934-3204

Beginning Dates for Bleckley County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate


Parent County

1912--Bleckley County was created 30 July 1912 from Pulaski County.  County seat:  Cochran [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported damage.[3]


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Dodge County  • Houston County  • Laurens County  • Pulaski County  • Twiggs County  • Wilkinson County

Bleckley CountyHouston CountyTwiggs CountyWilkinson CountyBibb CountyPeach CountyJones CountyTaylor CountyMacon CountyCrawford CountyMonroe CountyWashington CountyJohnson CountyLaurens CountyTreutlen CountyDodge CountyMontgomery CountyWheeler CountyTelfair CountyPulaski CountyWilcox CountyJeff Davis CountyDooly CountyCrisp CountySumter CountyLee CountyGABleckley.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Methodist Episcopal
  • 1871-1885 - Methodist Episcopal Church, Cochran, Baptism Index 1871-1885. Batch C712191 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1871-1895 - Methodist Episcopal Church, Cochran, Marriage Index 1871-1895. Batch M712191 at FamilySearch - free.[4]



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bleckley County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.



Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Bleckley County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bleckley County, Georgia Genealogy:

  • Daughters of the American Revolution, and Virginia Speer Harris. 1957. History of Pulaski and Bleckley Counties, Georgia, 1808-1956. (see V.1 page 124 - 154:  to view a digital version go to FHL Catalog )  FHL Collection  WorldCat



Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bleckley County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Death Records
Marriage Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Bleckley County Historical Society
Middle Georgia College
Cochran, Georgia, 31014

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bleckley County, Georgia. Page 151 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 October 2015, at 15:42.
  • This page has been accessed 14,457 times.