Blickling, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Blickling, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blickling, Norfolk
Blickling St Andrews.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Blickling St Andrews is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The flint and limestone 15th century Grade II listed church was substantially remodelled in the 19th century. Surviving from the medieval building is the collection of brasses, several are to the Boleyn family and Anne Boleyn. Sir Nicholas Dagworth (b.1390 an early owner of the hall) is buried in the church and marked by a tombstone. Also of note is the memorial to the eighth Marquis of Lothian by George Frederick Watts.

Blickling is a village and civil parish in the Broadland district of Norfolk, England, about 1.5 miles (2.4 km) north-west of Aylsham on the B1354 road. Since the 17th century the village has been concentrated in two areas, around the church and also at the park gates of Blickling Hall. Most of the village is contained in the Blickling Estate, which has been owned by the National Trust since 1940.

BLICKLING (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 1¼ mile (N. W. by N.) from Aylsham. [1] 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD .

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church Records

Blickling, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
Blickling, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1560-1900
1560-1900
1560-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1560-1897 Undefined 1560-1923 Undefined 1560-1812
JOIN
1813-1836

NTA 1559-1785


Norfolk Record Office reference PD

Parish registers
Microfilm copy of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich.

Item 4 Baptisms 1560-1796 Marriages 1560-1754 Burials 1560-1678 Item 5 Burials 1678-1796 Item 6 Baptisms and burials 1796-1812 Item 7 Baptisms 1813-1897 Item 8 Marriages 1754-1812 Banns 1754-1823 Item 9 Marriages 1813-1836 Item 10 Marriages 1837-1901 Item 11 Banns 1824-1923 FHL BRITISH Film 1471296 Items 4-11

Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms and marriages 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Burials 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526779 Item 6

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Parish poor law records, 1630-1845 Microfilm copy of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich, England.

Norfolk Record Office no.: PD 434/24-25, 28, 31, 33, 35-40.

Overseer's accounts & poor rate assessments, 1758-1836 Apprenticeship indentures, 1630-1797 Settlement certificates, 1722-1845 Bastardy bonds, 1774, 1793-1794 Settlement certificates, 1796-1827 FHL BRITISH Film 1702229 Items 10-20

See England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate Records

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes B

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 282-286. Date accessed: 2 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,640 times.