Blidworth, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Blidworth, Nottinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Blidworth, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield PLU
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1635
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Southwell
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BLIDWORTH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Mansfield, Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 5 miles (S. S. E.) from Mansfield; containing, with the hamlets of Lower Blidworth, Bottoms, Fishpool, and Rainworth, and the extra-parochial places of Lindhurst and Haywood-Oaks. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Blidworth St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Nottinghamshire. Other places in the parish include: Rainworth, Fishpool, and Bottoms.

The church of St Mary of the Purification dates from the 15th century in part and was rebuilt in 1735 and partially rebuilt in 1839. It has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building

Blidworth and its graveyard have been linked to the Robin Hood legend (reputedly the burial place of Will Scarlett or birthplace of Maid Marian) Blidworth Wikipedia St Mary of the Purification Wikipedia

The Blidworth and District Historical and heritage site includes images of the church and the graveyard model of the old church Blidworth Historical Society

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of the church and parish Blidworth St Mary of the Purification

From this parish was formed the parish of Rainworth, St Simon and St Jude, Nottinghamshire. See Rainworth Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837 for registration district history Mansfield registration district and [http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/reg/districts/basford.html+ Basford registration District

Certificates may be obtained from:

The Register Office
County House
100 Chesterfield Road South
Mansfield
NG19 7AQ
Phone 01623 476564
Fax 01623 636284
email:mansfieldro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Blidworth St Mary of the Purification

Blidworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[3]
BLIDWORTH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


TGEN 1566-1837
1566-1837
1566-1837

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1566-1967 Marriages 1570-1956 Burials 1566- 1957 Bishop's Transcripts 1635-1835
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Rainworth St Simon and St Jude

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1916-1961 Marriages 1939-1963

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Blidworth

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Transcribed by Bailey Bryan. Blidworth Apprenticeship Indentures 1787-1818.  Copy of the Indentures giving person name, who indentured too, term of the contract, and the position.  Article held at the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 2866, also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 127, pages 43-45, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Mansfield Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Blidworth (Bludworth) in GENUKI:www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Blidworth/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 December 2014, at 19:39.
  • This page has been accessed 2,581 times.