Blisland, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Blisland, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blisland, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Trigg
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Bodmin PLU
Registration District Bodmin
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Minor
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BLISLAND (St. Pratt), a parish, in the union of Bodmin, hundred of Trigg, E. division of Cornwall, 4½ miles (N. N. E.) from Bodmin. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Neighboring Parishes

England Jurisdictions 1851 may be used to locate nearby parishes by clicking the "Options" tab and selecting "List contiguous parishes."

Altarnun, Cornwall Cardinham, Cornwall Helland, Cornwall St Breward, Cornwall St Mabyn, Cornwall St Neot, Cornwall Temple, Cornwall

Resources

Civil Registraton

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Blisland, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Blisland, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1539-1812


COPC 1682-1859
1539-1907
1539-1901
FMP 1563-1859
1539-1837
1700-1837
FREG 1716-1859
1539-1907
1727-1787, 1813-1901
FS PRs
1539-1859
1539-1812, 1823-1907
1539-1901
IGI 1563-1859
1539-1875


PALL

1790-1812


Records deposited cover 1539-1976, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.

The Family History Library has marriages 1539-1812; Bishop's Transcripts 1682-1805; Parish registers 1539-1976. Church records indexes: Parish register transcripts: Christenings, marriages, burials, 1563-1837.

Film numbers for Blisland can be found at FamilySearch. Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearchunder Records. Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P11.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241273.

Poor Law Unions

Bodmin Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdiction by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Web sites

Blisland in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 282-286.Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 16:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,427 times.