Blisland Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
History
Blisland Parish has served James City, York, and New Kent counties. There were two churches in colonial times.[1]
The lower church in Blisland Parish is known as Hickory Neck Church (see picture).[2]
The upper church, aka Brick Church, was known as Warranigh, Warrany, or Warrenay church.[3]
Founded
- abt 1653[4]
Variant Spellings
- Blissland
Resources
Cemetery
Few tombstones could be found at the site of Warrany Church in the early 1900s.[1]
Ministers
- Evans, David. "Price Davies, Rector of Blisland Parish Two Letters, 1763, 1765," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 79, No. 2 (Apr., 1971), pp. 153-161. FHL Book 975.5 B2v; digital version at JSTOR ($).
Parish History
Parish Records
Colonial parish registers have been lost.
Vestry Books
The original records are stored at the Library of Virginia. Copies: FHL Film 30624
These records have been abstracted:
- Chamberlayne, C.G. The Vestry Book of Blisland (Blissland) Parish, New Kent and James City Counties, Virginia, 1721-1786. Richmond: The Library Board, 1935. Original edition: FHL Film 982042 Item 2; 1979 reprint: FHL Book 975.54 K2c 1979
Websites
- Hickory Neck Episcopal Church, Toano, Virginia (official site)
- Hickory Neck Church, The Historical Marker Database
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Mrs. B.B.W. Turner, "Warrany Church in New Kent," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan. 1937):45-48. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- ↑ "History of Hickory Neck," Hickory Neck Episcopal Church, Toano, Virginia, accessed 26 February 2011.
- ↑ Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Aug. 1994).
- ↑ Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 March 2013, at 17:54.
- This page has been accessed 1,218 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
