Blofield, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Blofield, Norfolk)

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Blofield, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Blofield, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blofield
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Blofield
Registration District Blofield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1545
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blofield
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office


Parish History

Blofield St Andrew and St peter is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich. Picture of St. Andrew & St. Paul Church provided by Maureen Mitchell

BLOFIELD (St. Andrew), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Blofield, E. division of Norfolk, 7 miles (E.) from Norwich. The Independents have a place of worship. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Blofield, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
Blofield, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FREG 1545-1900
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1545-1901 Undefined 1545-1915 Undefined 1545-1783, 1813-1901
IGI 1546-1812 1547-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.

1891 Census Surname Index

Genealogy From Periodicals

Mallett, B. Which Was His Father. History and Family tree of Nicholas Mallett and Susanna Salmon,at St. Gregory, Norwich 1748, and his 2nd marriage to Sara Field at Coslany in 1777.The surnames included on the tree are Sayer, Mason, Evans, Waters-Leaving, dated from 1748 - 1963. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol. 4, pt. 2, page 45, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.4, pt 2.

Poor Law Unions

Blofield Workhouse

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

The union consisted of the following parishes: Acle, Beighton, Blofield, Bradestone, Brundall, Buckenham Ferry, Burlingham St Andrew, Burlingham St Edmund, Burlingham St Peter, Cantley, Freethorpe, Halvergate, Hassingham, Hemblington, Limpenhoe, Lingwood, Moulton, Great Plumstead, Little Plumstead, Postwick, Ranworth with Panxworth, Reedham, Southwood, Strumpshaw, Thorpe St Andrew, Tunstall, Upton with Fishley, Walsham St Lawrence, Walsham St Mary, Wickhampton, Witton, Woodbastwick.
Blofield Union was incorporated under the 1834 Act. The Union Workhouse was opened in 1836 at Lingwood. Blofield Union Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 3 in 1930.
Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 6 May 1971 (C/GP2/29) and on unknown dates.

Land Records

1597 Subsidy Taxes courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archives

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Military Records

WW1 War Memorials courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archive

WW2 War Memorials courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archive



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 282-286. Date accessed: 2 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 11:31.
  • This page has been accessed 4,734 times.