Bloomsbury St George, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Bloomsbury St George, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bloomsbury St George, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St Giles in the Fields; St George Bloomsbury PLU
Registration District St Giles
Records begin
Parish registers: 1730
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'BLOOMSBURY, or St. George-Bloomsbury, was a parish, which in the 19th century was also a subdistrict, in the district of St. Giles, Middlesex. It lay about 1.25 of a mile west by northwest St. Paul Cathedral, London. According to the famous topographer, Samuel Lewis, St George-Bloomsbury lay originally in a part of St. Giles-in-the-Fields parish, but was consecrated a parish by 1729.

Christ Church in Woburn Square was built in the year 1833. In 1845 the French Episcopal Chapel, in Bloomsbury Street, was built. Bedford Chapel formerly of Charlotte Street was built in 1771.

1848 parish description
St. George, Bloomsbury, is a parish in Holborn. It is adjacent to the City of London, in the hundred of Ossulstone, Middlesex. The patron is the Crown.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bloomsbury St George Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1730
1730
1730
Images
1730-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1754-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1855 Ancestry[5]
Indexes     1800-1837 Ancestry[6]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

St Giles in the Fields; St George Bloomsbury

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bloomsbury on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St George, Bloomsbury in Camden Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bloomsbury St George in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bloomsbury St George in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bloomsbury St George in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 17:09.
  • This page has been accessed 4,882 times.