Blount County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Tennessee
Blount County
Blount County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Blount County (established 1795) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Blount County, Tennessee | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Tennessee in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | July 11, 1795 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Maryville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Blount County Courthouse] 345 Court Street Maryville, TN 37804 Phone: 865.273.5800 Blount County Website |
Blount County Tennessee Quick Dates
Blount County's civil records start the following years:[1]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1881 | 1795 | 1881 | 1830 | 1795 | 1795 |
Blount County Tennessee Courthouse
Blount County Courthouse
345 Court Street
Maryville, TN 37804
Phone: 865.273.5800
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1795.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]
345 Court St.
Maryville, TN 37804-5906
Phone: 1-865-273-5800
Blount County Clerk
Marriage and Probate records
Blount County Register of Deeds
Land Records dating back to the early 1700's
Blount County Clerk of Circuit Court
Court Records
All the above are at the same address and phone number as the County Courthouse.
Hours: Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Blount County Tennessee History
North Carolina first organized the land that would eventually become Blount County as part of Washington District in 1776, then as part of Washington County in 1777, and then as part of Greene County in 1783.
In August 1784 delegates of three western North Carolina counties, Washington, Sullivan, and Greene (all now in Tennessee), declared their Independence from North Carolina because of perceived neglect, and misuse by North Carolina’s legislature. By May 1785 they had petitioned to be admitted to the United States as the new State of Franklin. The Franklin statehood request was denied.[4]
In June of 1785 "John Sevier, governor of the State of Franklin, negotiated the Treaty of Dumplin Creek through which the land south of French Broad and Holston was purchased from the Indians."[5] All of Blount county is in the district South of the French Broad & Holston. (map)
The Treaty of Dumplin "extinguished the Indian claims on this land. This 'opening of new lands' caused a great influx of new settlers. (p.369, Ramsey, Annals)"[6] In 1786 the Franklin legislature created several new counties including Blount (all in present-day Tennessee).[7] By 1789 Franklin's hopes of statehood had faded and so the land office which was opened by the State of Franklin in 1787, which had taken entries, may never have issued a grant.[8]
In 1789 North Carolina ratified the Constitution, was admitted the union, and ceded her westernmost counties to the United States. The United States used them to form the Southwest Territory. The new counties created by the Franklin government were not recognized by North Carolina, the Southwest Territory, or by Tennessee. When they were reconstituted, no mention was made of their Franklin predecessor county governments. The Southwest Territory reconstituted Blount County, albeit with significantly redrawn borders, in 1795 from part of its Knox County.[9]
In 1796 the Southwest Territory, and the land of all these counties became part of the new State of Tennessee.
In 1806 Tennesse was finally able open her own land office and create her surveyor districts.
Parent County
1795--Blount County was created 11 July 1795 from Knox County.
County seat: Maryville[10]
A very small portion of Blount county was originally in Jefferson County. See the research and maps of René Jordan in the East Tennessee Historical Society's Tennessee Ancestors for details.
County Pronunciation
- Hear it spoken[11] (female)
- Hear it spoken[12] (also female)
Boundary Changes
"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the My Tennessee Genealogy website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Record Loss
1879 and 1906 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.- Lost censuses: 1810, 1820, 1890
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
- When the Records are Gone in Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Genealogy Blog
Blount County Tennessee Places / Localities
Populated Places
For a list of locations in this county and information about each location online, through some helpful websites, please click on Populated Places Table for Blount County
Neighboring Counties
Blount County Tennessee Genealogy Resources
Getting Started
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Blount County biography, cemetery, census, church, court, land, probate, school, and tax records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
Research Guides
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Blount County at TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American
United States African Americans
Tennessee African Americans
Cemeteries
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
The Tennessee Cemeteries page provides explanations of the following online resources:
| Bibliographies | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | TNGenWeb Cemetery Database | |
| USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project |
Published Blount County cemetery records:
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 5,587 | — |
| 1810 | 8,839 | 58.2% |
| 1820 | 11,258 | 27.4% |
| 1830 | 11,028 | −2.0% |
| 1840 | 11,745 | 6.5% |
| 1850 | 12,424 | 5.8% |
| 1860 | 13,270 | 6.8% |
| 1870 | 14,237 | 7.3% |
| 1880 | 15,985 | 12.3% |
| 1890 | 17,589 | 10.0% |
| 1900 | 19,206 | 9.2% |
| 1910 | 20,809 | 8.3% |
| 1920 | 28,800 | 38.4% |
| 1930 | 33,989 | 18.0% |
| 1940 | 41,116 | 21.0% |
| 1950 | 54,691 | 33.0% |
| 1960 | 57,525 | 5.2% |
| 1970 | 63,744 | 10.8% |
| 1980 | 77,770 | 22.0% |
| 1990 | 85,969 | 10.5% |
| 2000 | 105,823 | 23.1% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Blount County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]
1800 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available:
- Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.
1820 - Lost[13]
1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.
These records have also been abstracted:
- National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820.
- 1820 Census of Manufactures: Blount County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 6, No. 3 ():116. For availability, see Periodicals.
1830
- Sistler, Byron H. 1830 Census, East Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: n.p., 1969. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2p 1830.
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Blount County on page 152.]
1850
- Robinstein, Joyce. "Blount, TN 1850 Federal Census," [Includes every-name index] available online through USGenWeb Archives.
1860
- Templin, David H. and Cherel Bolin Henderson. 1860 Population Schedule of the United States Census, Blount County, Tennessee. Maryville, Tenn.: n.p., 1981. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 X2t.
1870
- Brown, Kenneth A. and Mary Ruth H. Brown. United States Census of 1870 for Blount County, Tennessee. Maryville, Tenn.: Printers, Inc., [198-?]. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 X2br.
1880
- Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census - Tennessee: Transcription for Blount County. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 198-?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 X2s 1980.
1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 1 1891. [Blount County is included in Vol. 1.]
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
Church
Baptist
Six Mile Baptist Church, 1813-1836 Name index. Available at TSLA.
Methodist
Holston Conference Office
P.O. Box 850
Alcoa, TN 37701
Telephone: 866-690-4080
Fax:865-690-3162
Presbyterian
- 1855-1895 - Forest Hill Church Baptism Index 1855-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C538841 and C538842.[14]
- 1874-1885 - Mt. Tabor Presbyterian Church Baptism Index 1874-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C538851 and C710051.[14]
History of New Providence Presbyterian Church, Maryville, Tenn., 1786-1921. Available at TSLA.
Court
County Court
- Record of Blount County, Tennessee, County Court Records [vol. 1 1795-1804; vol. 2 1804-1807; vol. 3 1808-1811] Name Index. Available at TSLA.
- Blount County, Tennessee, Court Minutes, Book no. 2, 1814-1817. Name Index. Available at TSLA.
- Minutes of the County Court of Blount County, Book no. 3, 1818. Name Index. Available at TSLA.
Chancery Court
- Blount County, Tennessee Chancery Court Records [vol. 1 1852-1865; vol. 2 1866-1869]. Name Index. Available at TSLA.
Circuit Court
- Minutes from 1852
Genealogy
More than 85 genealogies have been published about Blount County, Tennessee families. To view a list, visit Blount County, Tennessee Genealogy.
The Will E. Parham papers are kept at the Blount County Library Reference Section. Parham was a professional genealogist in the late 1800s and early 1900s. There is a card file by last name. Loose leaf by family name. There are also family files from other people who have added information.
Gordon Aronhime (1911-1983) collected information on hundreds of Southwest Virginia and East Tennessee pioneers. His note cards, which reference more than 4,000 early settlers of the Holston-Clinch River area and East Tennessee (1770s-1790s), are held at the Library of Virginia. The cards have been digitized and made available online.[15]
Immigration
Early settlers came down the Indian war path, primarily from Virginia.[16]
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 19 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Blount County.[17]
Land
Grants
- Intro - Blount county part of the French Broad River Area
- Blount County Land Grants Sevier County Genealogy and History, Genealogy Trails History Group. Note that this helpful index, although labeled an index to grants, is really an index to ENTRYS.
- Fox, George and Juanita.Surveyor Entry Book, District South of French Broad Holston, State of Tennessee 1807, Blount, Cocke, Jefferson, Knox, Sevier Counties. (S.I. : G. & J. Fox, c2004). FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R2fg. This is a definitive source - it abstracts and indexes all enterees, adjacent land owners, etc. ISBN 097540444X
- Blount County, Tennessee, Entry Taker's Book, 1824-1826. Name Index. Available at TSLA.
Deeds
Online
"1795-1819 - Deed Book 1 (Index)"
Abstracts
Thomas, Jane Kizer. Blount County, Tennessee Deeds(Maryville, Tenn. : Blount County Genealogical & Historical Society, 1990). Two volumes: Vol 1 1795-1819 and Vol 2 1819-1833. The indexes in these books include the names of witnessess and adjoining land owners. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 R2t v. 1 & 2. Also at TSLA. Books also available on FHL film.
Microflim & Originals
The original Blount County Deed Books are held at the County Courthouse. In 1971, TSLA microfilmed Deed Books 1 to HH (1794-1881) and corresponding indexes. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 888879-888889.
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at The TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Local Histories
US GenWeb offers a "Times Past" page which has photos and histories of Blount County.
- Blount County Tennessee History 1795 - 1995 Free lookups available!
- Wilson, Samuel Tydale. A Century of Maryville College, 1819-1919. Maryville, Tennessee: Directors of Maryville College, 1916. Free digital copy.
Maps
- [1795] Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. [Includes 1795 map of Blount County and East Tennessee.]
- [1795] Reeves, Charles A. Blount County [Tennessee] - Created July 11, 1795 from Knox County. Published 2000. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
- [1926] U.S. Geological Survey. Proposed Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Originally published 1926. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
- [1934] U.S. Park Service. Preliminary Base Map, Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Originally published 1934. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
Military
Revolutionary War
The following Blount County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
Additional resources include:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Blount County on page 152.]
- One Hundred Soldiers of American Revolution, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 16, No. 2 (1987).
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War (TNGenWeb).
- Revolutionary Soldiers, Reflector, Vol. 18, No. 4 (Dec. 1976).
- Revolutionary War Soldiers, Tennessee Rifleman, Vol. 31, No. 2 (Spring 1990).
- Revolutionary War Soldiers and Patriots, Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jan. 1977).
- Soldiers of Blount (100), Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, Vol. 110, No. 6 (Jul. 1976).
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan. 1960):13-16. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Bledsoe County pensioners (p. 14).]
- Blount county soldiers who served in the War of 1812 at TNGenWeb
Civil War
Civil War service men from Blount County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Blount County.
Confederate Soldiers
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Carter's) - CSA - Companies G and I.
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Ashby's) - CSA - Company K.
- 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company E.
- 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (Lillard's) - CSA - Company E.
- 5th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (McClellan's) - CSA - Company E.
- 5th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (McKenzie's) - CSA
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Smith's) - CSA*37th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (7th Infantry) (1st East Tennessee Rifles) - CSA - Company I.
- 39th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (W. M. Bradford's) (31st Infantry) - CSA - Company B.
Union Soldiers
- 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Company A.
- 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - Company G.
- 3rd Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry - Company C.
- 6th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - Company A.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Blount County:
- Knoxville Civil War Roundtable, The Civil War in Blount County, Tennessee, By Dorothy E. Kelly, (accessed 30 Jan 2012).
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Blount County, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Blount County, page 318-319.
Newspapers
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Blount County click on the following city:
Occupations
- Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Blount County.]
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Blount County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- The Blount Journal
- Publication of the Blount County Genealogical and Historical Society began in 1985 and is still in print. Tables of contents are available online. Purchase back issues through the society. The Family History Library has acquired most volumes FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b.
The Blount Journal is indexed in the PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
- East Tennessee Roots
- Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Blount County, Tennessee records have been published in East Tennessee Roots (10 vols.). A subject index to these articles is available online. Surname indexes to Volumes 9 and 10 are also available online. The Family History Library has collected most issues of East Tennessee Roots FHL Book 976.8 D25e.
- The Pellissippian
- Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Blount County, Tennessee records were published in the The Pellissippian (25 vols., 1980-2004), the quarterly of the Pellissippi Genealogical and Historical Society. The society has posted tables of contents for all 25 volumes on their website. They also have back issues available for purchase. The Family History Library has acquired the first 20 volumes FHL Book 976.8 D25p.
- Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Blount County, Tennessee records were published in the Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter (33 vols., 1977-2007), the journal of the Smoky Mountain Historical Society. Tables of contents for most issues are available online. Back issues are available for purchase. The Family History Library has acquired a complete collection FHL US/CAN Book 976.889 B2s, as well as Journal Contents and Index of Names: 1977 thru 1996 FHL US/CAN Book 976.889 B2s index.
The newsletter is indexed in the PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
- Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Blount County, Tennessee records have been published in the Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (39+ vols., 1972-present), the journal of the Watauga Association of Genealogists. The organization has posted tables of contents for most volumes on their website. Back issues are available for purchase. The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w, including Margaret W. Hougland and Betty Jane Hylton's Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.
Prisons
Learn if your Blount County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
Probate
"The County Clerk has the responsibility for the administration, settlement, and distribution of the estates of deceased person. The County Clerk has all the probate records and the will books and some of the newer wills. Blount County Records Management and Archives has all the older wills."[18]
Most of the early original Blount County Will Books were destroyed. In 1869, all known records not lost in a fire were transcribed. In 1971, TSLA microfilmed the 1869 transcript and the records that were left. FHL copies: FHL Films 888877-888878.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Index to Wills 1857-1971
- Wills, 1795-1934
- Bonds, Letters 1889-1935
- Court Records 1796-1834
- Insolvent estate records, 1879-1948
- Inventories, Settlements, 1857-1922
- Minutes, 1880-1914
- Settlements, 1857-1932
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Blount County probate records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Here are the indexes:
The following Blount County probate records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- [1795-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's wills.] Free Lookups Available!
Taxation
The original Blount County Tax Books are held at the County Courthouse. TSLA microfilmed Tax Books 1800, 1801, 1803-1805, 1837-1839 (Reel 1--available for interlibrary loan), 1845-1856 (Roll 482), and 1864-1900 (Rolls 482-488). FHL has copies of 1845-1846 and 1864-1867: FHL US/CAN Film 888892.
The following Blount County tax records, stored at various archives, have been abstracted:[19]
- [1800-1801] Curtis, Mary Barnett. Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: A Compiled List of Residents of the Area Covered in 22 East Tennessee Counties for which there is (sic) No Census Records Prior to 1830. Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964. FHL Book 976.8 R4c. [Includes 1800-1801 tax lists.]
- [1800-1801, 1805] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. [Includes 1800-1801 and 1805 tax lists.]
- [1801] Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. [Includes 1801 tax list.]
- [1803] "Unpaid Taxes - 1803" [Blount, Cocke, Sevier Cos.], Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 10, No. 3 (1984):6-8. FHL US/CAN Book 976.889 B2s v. 10-11 (1984-1985). For further access, see Periodicals; digital version at TNGenWeb - Blount County, Tennessee Blog (14 March 2009 post); digital version by Duay O'Neil, at Sevier County, Tennessee, Genealogy & History. [Abstract of The Knoxville Gazette, Aug. 8, 1803.]
- [1805] "Blount County, Tennessee Free Taxable Inhabitants 1805," Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Winter 1973):7-16. FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w v. 2. For further access, see Periodicals. [Source: TSLA records; no index.]
- [1805] Tax List, 1805, The Blount Journal, Vol. 2, No. 1 (May 1986). FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b v. 1-2. For further access, see Periodicals.
- [1808] Delinquent Tax Records, 1808, The Blount Journal, Vol. 1, Nos. 1-2 (Nov. 1985). FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b v. 1-2. For further access, see Periodicals.
- [1808] "A list of those who returned their taxable polls and property at May term 1808," The Blount Journal, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Spring 1993):17. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b v. 9. For further access, see Periodicals. [Source: Blount County Court Minutes, May 1808, p. 278.]
- [1814] "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3 (Fall 1996):115-120. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 43. For further access, see Periodicals. [Includes Blount County.]
- [1834] "Blount County Civil Districts - 1834," "Blount County Civil Districts - 1993," "The Civil Districts of Blount County," The Blount Journal, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Spring 1993):1-11. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b v. 9. For further access, see Periodicals. [The third article is a transcript of Blount County Court Minutes, 1814-1843, Microfilm #103, Blount County Public Library, 2nd series on the reel, pp. 98-102 by Jane Kizer Thomas.]
- [1836] Douthat, James L. Blount County, Tennessee, 1836 Tennessee Civil Districts and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 R4d 1836; online: free surname index and purchase details.
- [1840] "Land On Top of Old Smoky Sold for Taxes in 1840," [Blount County] Ansearchin' News, Vol. 44, No. 4 (Winter 1997):23. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 44. For further access, see Periodicals.
- [1844] Foster-Blevins, Alice. "Blount County, TN - Census - Poll Tax, 2 Jan 1844," available online through USGenWeb Archives.
Vital Records
Marriage
The following Blount County marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- 1795-1896 - Blount County Marriage Index 1795-1896 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[14]
- 1795-1870 - Lucas, Silas Emmett and Ella Lee Sheffield. 35,000 Tennessee Marriage Records and Bonds 1783-1870. 3 vols. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1981. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2t v. 1 ff. [Abstracts include names of brides, grooms, bondsmen, marriage bond dates, and officiators for weddings in this county for the roughly specified years. Marriage data taken from an index card file at the TSLA. Authors do not specify whether or not the card index completely indexes this county's marriages.]
- 1795-1865 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early East Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1987. FHL US/CAN 976.8 V2s v. 1. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.] Free Lookups Available!
- 1798-1858 - Blount County, Tennessee Marriage Index 1798-1858, available online through USGenWeb.
- 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2L.
Divorce
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Blount County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Deaths
- Blount County Death Records Database - covers 1800s to 1960 deaths from local newspapers and funeral home records. Available from the Blount County, TNGenWeb site.
For deaths of Methodists in Blount County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Blount County Tennessee Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Blount County Genealogical and Historical Society
PO Box 4986
Maryville, TN 37802-4986
East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay St.
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, TN 37901-1629
Phone: 1-865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
Blount County Public Library
508 N. Cusick St.
Maryville, TN 37804
Phone: 1-865-977-1142
Hours: Mon.-Thurs. 9 a.m.-9 p.m.
Fri. and Sat. 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
Sun. 1 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
The Genealogy and Local History section has an 800+ volume collection containing "books on genealogy and local history to be used within the Library. Microfilm of local newspapers, court records and census schedules are available for photocopying. Records on CD-ROM from the Latter Day Saints are also available for use." (per website)
Mary E. Tippitt Memorial Library
120 Tiger Drive
Townsend, TN 37882
Phone: 1-865-448-1441
Fax: 1-865-448-1875
E-mail: metmlib@yahoo.com
Hours: Mon. and Tues. 9 a.m.-6 p.m.
Wed. 12 p.m.-6 p.m.
Thurs. and Fri. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Contains the Townsend collection which includes local interest items and genealogical sources. (per website)
Family History Centers
Blount County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- Blount County, Tennessee (American Local History Network & Tennessee Local History Network) Resources to help you place your ancestors within the context of their local history.
- Blount County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Blount County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Blount County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Blount County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Blount County, TN History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (MyTennesseeGenealogy)
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Mailing List: TNBLOUNT-L (Blount County, Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: ETN-L (East Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: ETN-OZ-L (East Tennessee Migrants to Ozarks Region List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: FRANKLIN-STATE-L (State of Franklin 1784-1788 List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: SE-TN-L (Southeast Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: UPPEREASTTN-L (Upper East Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Smoky Mountain Ancestral Quest Compiled Genealogies of Local Families
Blount County Tennessee Genealogy References
- ↑ Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Blount County, Tennessee page 638, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "William Blount," Wikipedia.
- ↑ “State of Franklin” in North Carolina History Project at http://www.northcarolinahistory.org/encyclopedia/99/entry (accessed 27 June 2010).
- ↑ George and Juanita Fox, 'Surveyor Entry Book, District South of French Broad & Holston, State of Tennessee 1807, Blount, Cocke, Jefferson, Knox, Sevier Counties. (S.I. : G. & J. Fox, c2004). Page v. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R2fg.
- ↑ George and Juanita Fox, 'Surveyor Entry Book, District South of French Broad & Holston, State of Tennessee 1807, Blount, Cocke, Jefferson, Knox, Sevier Counties. (S.I. : G. & J. Fox, c2004). Page v. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R2fg.
- ↑ “State of Franklin” in The Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture at http://tennesseeencyclopedia.net/imagegallery.php?EntryID=F061 (accessed 27 June 2010).
- ↑ George and Juanita Fox, 'Surveyor Entry Book, District South of French Broad & Holston, State of Tennessee 1807, Blount, Cocke, Jefferson, Knox, Sevier Counties. (S.I. : G. & J. Fox, c2004). Page v. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R2fg.
- ↑ Robert M. McBride, "Lost Counties of Tennessee," East Tennessee Historical Society's Publications 38 (1966): 6.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 638. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Louise Lynch, Archivist, Williamson County, Tennessee Archives (2010).
- ↑ Mary Barnett Curtis, Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: a compiled list of residents of the area covered in 22 east Tennessee counties for which there is (sic) no census records prior to 1830 (Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964)[FHL Book 976.8 R4c].
- ↑ 14.0 14.1 14.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
- ↑ "Original Virginia Records Imaged and Indexed Online," Arlene Eakle's Virginia Genealogy Blog, 12 October 2008.
- ↑ George and Juanita Fox, Surveyor Entry Book, District South of French Broad & Holston, State of Tennessee 1807, Blount, Cocke, Jefferson, Knox, Sevier Counties.p. v. (S.I. : G. & J. Fox, c2004). FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R2fg.
- ↑ Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 372-378 (see East Tennessee). FHL US/CAN 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- ↑ Jackie Glenn, Records Manager and County Archivist, "Blount County Records Management and Archives", Blount County Goverment (http://www.blounttn.org/records.asp#Probate : accessed 4 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2013, at 20:44.
- This page has been accessed 12,129 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



