Blundeston with Flixton, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes

Blundeston with Flixton, Suffolk
Blundeston - Church of St Mary.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland PLU
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Blundeston, is a parish in Mutford district, Suffolk; it is near the coast, 2 ½ miles ENE of Somerleyton railway station, and 3 ½ miles NW of Lowestoft. The post office is under Lowestoft. It was united with the rectory of Flixton owing to a hurricane in 1703 which partially destroyed it and was never rebuilt. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for additional local history.

Contents

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to Blundeston and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Blundeston and Flixton were in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

Blundeston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
Blundeston Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1857 Undefined 1558-1901 Undefined 1558-1901
JOIN
1813-1837

Blundeston with Flixton, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Blundeston with Flixton, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1560-1753

FREG 1813-1857


NBI

1558-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1558. They can be viewed at the Norfolk Record Office, or on microfilmed copies of the original parish registers from 1558-1901, at any of the 4,600 FamilySearch Centres worldwide. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474635.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Accessed 3 April, 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 988 times.