Blymhill, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Blymhill, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blymhill, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Shifnal PLU
Registration District Shiffnal
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brewood
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BLYMHILL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Shiffnall, W. division of the hundred of Cuttlestone, S. division of the county of Stafford, 6 miles (W. N. W.) from Brewood.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Blymhill St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
BLYMHILL PARISH (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1561-1901 1561-1901 1561-1901 1561-1901 1561-1812 1561-1812
FS 1561-1868
1561-1898

JOIN
1561-1812

NBI

1561-1837
PALL
1790-1812

Blymhill Holy Cross parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Blymhill Holy Cross Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1813-1877 1813-1877

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Blymhill/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 August 2014, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,250 times.