Blyth, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Blyth, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blyth, Northumberland
St Cuthbert's Blyth Northumberland.jpg
St Cuthbert's Blyth Northumberland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Tynemouth PLU
Registration District Tynemouth
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Earsdon
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish history

BLYTH, NORTH, a township, in the parish and division of Bedlington, union of Morpeth, N. division of Northumberland, 8½ miles (E. S. E.) from Morpet Blyth was formed as a chapelry in Earsdon Ecclesiastical Parish in Northumberland.[1]

Additional information:
Church of England Bishops' transcripts exist from 1762 in the Earsdon transcripts. The two Blyth parishes were formed as chapelries, Blyth St Cuthbert was formed from  Earsdon, Northumberland parish, Blyth St Mary from Horton, Northumberland parish.


A chapel of ease, Blyth St Mary, was built in 1864 at the west end of Blyth market; this became a parish church in 1897. Another church in Horton Parish, Newsham St Bede, had its origins around 1916 and served the mining villages of Newsham and New Delaval. As the population moved, so did the church, and the present building is the fourth. It is located on Newcastle Road, Blyth and was consecrated in 1957.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

It is necessary to search both Earsdon and Horton parishes for earlier Blyth. Bishop's transcripts collection for both parishes are online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The majority of Blyth baptisms,  marriages will be found Earsdon (Northumberland) 
Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/88 Date: 1762-1844 Contents: Including transcripts from Blyth, 1762-1844 and this collection is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Horton (Northumberland) Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/140 Date: 1762-1856 is also available online.

Blyth, St Cuthbert: Records of baptisms 1860-1985, marriages 1885-1970 and burials 1859-1864, 1962-1967 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the original chapel at Blyth for the period 1762-1844 are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Blyth Old Chapel (microfiche TN72) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Blyth, St Mary: Records of baptisms 1864-1965 and marriages 1864-1979 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438900.

Poor Law Unions

Tynemouth Poor Law Union,Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,494 times.