Bobbington, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Bobbington, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bobbington, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brimstree; South Seisdon
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Seisdon PLU
Registration District Wolverhampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1636
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridgnorth
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Royal Peculiar of Bridgnorth
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

For more information and records see Bobbington, Staffordshire.

Parish History

BOBBINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Seisdon, partly in the hundred of Brimstree, S. division of Salop, but chiefly in the S. division of the hundred of Seisdon and of the county of Stafford, 8 miles (W. N. W.) from Stourbridge.[1]

Part of the Ancient Parish of  Bobbington, Staffordshire is in Shropshire and partly in Staffordshire; created in 1726 from chapelry in  Claverley, Shropshire Ancient Parish.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Bobbington like this:

BOBBINGTON, a parish in the district of Wolverhampton, and counties of Stafford and Salop; 3½ miles W of the river Stour and the Stafford and Birmingham canal, 4½ miles E by N of Hampton-Loade r. station, and 8 WNW of Stourbridge. It includes the hamlet of Halfpenny-Green; and its Post Town is Enville, under Stourbridge. Acres, 2,676. Real property, £4,130. Pop., 431. Houses, 87. The property is divided among a few. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Hereford. Value, £97. Patron, W. Whitmore, Esq. The church is good. An endowed school has £42, and other charities £31.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474583.

Poor Law Unions

Seisdon Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Bobbington/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 286-290. Date accessed: 17 May 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,522 times.