Boconnoc, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Boconnoc, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BOCONNOC, a parish, in the union of Liskeard, hundred of West, E. division of Cornwall, 3¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Lostwithiel.[1]

Boconnoc, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Trigg
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Bodmin PLU
Registration District Bodmin
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Minor
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office


Boconnoc is named after the Old Cornish for 'Dwelling place of Conoc' (Cornish: Boskennek). It is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086 as Bochenod. At that time, it is recorded as having land for 8 ploughs but only one plough there with one slave. There were 2 villagers and 6 smallholders. The parish then consisted of 100 acres of woodland and 40 acres of pasture. For more information see GENUKI.

Neighboring Parishes

England Jurisdictions 1851 may be used to locate nearby parishes by clicking the "Options" tab and selecting "List contiguous parishes."

Bradoc, Cornwall Lanreath, Cornwall St Veep, Cornwall St Winnow, Cornwall

Resources

Civil Registraton

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Boconnoc, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
Boconnoc, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1608-1664

COPC 1709-1850
1712-1850
1709-1850
FMP 1711-1850 1624-1836 1813-1837
FREG 1736-1843
1712-1839
1786-1811
FS PRs 1712-1839
IGI 1709-1850 1712-1850

Records deposited cover 1709-1918, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.

The Family History Library has 1712-1839; parish register baptisms 1813-1918 and burials 1813-1998. Church records indexes: Parish register transcripts: baptisms 1709-1850 and burials 1712-1850; marriages 1712-1839.

Film numbers for Boconnoc can be found at FamilySearch. Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearchunder Records. Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P9.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241273.

Poor Law Unions

Liskeard Poor Law Union

Probate records 

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdiction by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 290-295. Adapted. Accessed 20 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,423 times.