Bodenham, HerefordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bodenham, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bodenham St Michael, Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Leominster PLU|
|Parish registers: 1584|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
BODENHAM (St. Michael), a parish, (anciently a market-town), in the union of Leominster, hundred of Broxash, county of Hereford, 8½ miles (N. N. E.) from Hereford; comprising the townships of Bodenham, Bowley, Bryan-Maund, Whitechurch-Maund, and the Moor. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.
Bodenham is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire see Bodenham Wikipedia
Bodenham is an Ancient Parish in Herefordshire and included Bowley, Bryan Maund, Whitchurch Maund, Fenn (sometimes spelled Fern, The Vern, The Moor, and Venn and Vern)
A history of the parish church is included at the Bodenham Church website and a map of the parish boundary at A church near you
The Church of St Michael and All Angels Church Walk Bodenham has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also Herefordshire Churches
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts
Parish records reference
AG45 Parish registers 1584-1987 Bishop's Transcripts for Bodenham, 1660-1846
Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
 to locate local Family History Centres in UK
 to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.Find my Past 1911 census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 290-295. Date accessed: 16 April, 2013.
- This page was last modified on 31 August 2014, at 15:42.
- This page has been accessed 1,567 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki