Bodiam, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Bodiam, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bodiam, Sussex
Bodiam St Giles East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staple
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Ticehurst PLU
Registration District Ticehurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BODIAM (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Ticehurst, hundred of Staple, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 2 miles (S. W.) from Sandhurst, and 12 (S. S. E.) from Lamberhurst.[1]

Bodiam St Giles is an Ancient Parish in the Rother district of East Sussex.

A history of the church Bodiam St Giles

The Parish church of St Giles has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

Bodiam Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Bodiam Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Ticehurst registration district

Church records

Bodiam, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Bodiam, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1893


IGI 1557-1885 1557-1881
NBI

1750-1900
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bodiam

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464159.

Poor Law Unions

Ticehurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 290-295. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 21:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,538 times.