Bodle Street Green, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes
Bodle Street Green St John the Evangelist East Sussex.jpg


Guide to Bodiam, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Bodle Street Green St John the Evangelist is an Ecclesiastical parish referred to in the 1851 Census as a chapel of ease to Warbleton, Sussex parish

A history of the parish Bodle Street Green St John the Evangelist

Bodle Street Green Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

The village and civil parish of Bodle Street Green is in the Wealden District of East Sussex Bodle Street green Wikipedia a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

The Ebenezer Strict Baptist Chapel was built in 1864 after the earlier foundation in 1835 of an Independent Baptist congregation was founded.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bodle Street Green, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Bodle Street Green, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1893


IGI 1854-1885 1857-1876
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 971 times.