Bodmin, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Bodmin, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bodmin, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Trigg
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Bodmin PLU
Registration District Bodmin
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Minor
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BODMIN (St. Petrock), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Trigg, E. division of Cornwall. There are places of worship for Bryanites, the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, and Wesleyans.[1]

Neighboring Parishes

Parishes either adjoining or nearby include Lanivet, St Mabyn, Helland, Blisland, Cardinham, Temple, Warleggan, St Winnow, Lanlivery, Lostwithiel, and Lanhydrock.  All of these parishes, in addition to a few others, have been part of the Bodmin Registration District at one time, although not all are presently part of the district at this time.

Because Bodmin was the administrative center of this part of Cornwall and the seat of the Bodmin Registration District (for civil registration), as well as the largest town in this area, many people who had moved to other parts of the UK or emigrated to other countries often named Bodmin as their birth place. That obviously has implications for the genealogy researcher, as one may find records that report Bodmin as the birth place of the person sought, when in reality the birth and/or christening may have occured in one of the other parishes or villages nearby, and the record of these events will not be found in the Bodmin parish records. 

There are also parts of the Bodmin parish or borough, where the people living there have traditionally attended and had the events such as christening, marriage, and burial performed in a different parish.  For example those living at Margate, Turfdown, Sunny Bank, and Fletchers Bridge, although part of Bodmin, attended church and received those events at the Cardinham parish church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Bodmin is part of the Bodmin civil registration district which includes a number of surrounding parishes.

Church records

Bodmin, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Bodmin, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1812

COPC 1558-1700, 1813-1860, 1893-1900
1559-1900
1558-1900
FMP 1558-1875 1559-1837 1700-1837
FREG 1730-1841
1559-1812, 1884-1914
1757-1886, 1897-1916
FS PRs 1558-1900 1558-1914 1558-1951, 1983-1990
IGI 1558-1875 1558-1876
PALL
1790-1812

Records deposited cover 1558-1983, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.

The Family History Library has Parish registers beginning in 1558; Bishops’ transcripts 1683-1773. Church records indexes: Parish register and Bishops’ transcripts: 1523-1837. Film numbers for Bodmin can be found at FamilySearch.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch under Records. Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P13.

The waypoint for Baptisms 1813-1830 contains a waypoint error the images refer to P 13/1/1 and this is clearly visible in the register. The issue has been reported to engineers for future correction.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

The Bodmin section of the OPC website contains many records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241273.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Bodmin in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 290-295. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:21.
  • This page has been accessed 3,125 times.