Bognor, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Bognor, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bognor, Sussex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aldwick
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Chichester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1873
Bishop's Transcripts: 1873
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pagham
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOGNOR, a market and post town, chapelry, and bathing-place, in the parish of South Bersted, hundred of Aldwick, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 7 miles (S. E.) from Chichester, and 67 (S. W. by S.) from London.[1]

Bognor may refer to:

Pagham, Sussex the Ancient parish, a peculiar of the Archbishop of Cantebury 

An introduction to Bognor church history Bognor

Bognor Regis Holy Cross North Bersted built in 1890 as a mission church with later additions and created a separate parish in 2001 Cross Church history

For other places of worship in the town see Bognor Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also:

Bognor Regis Wikipedia list of places of worship in Arun

List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district

Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Bognor St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Bognor St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1873-1901
1873-1900

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bognor

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 290-295. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,514 times.