Boise Idaho Family History CenterEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


The Boise Idaho Family History Center serves the Boise area. In the center are about 3000 Microfilms on long term loan.  We also have about 2000 books and many computers.  Volunteers at the Center are trained in the methods of genealogical research. The Center is dedicated to providing support for the family history community.

Idahoboisefhc.jpg

Contents

Center Contacts and Hours

Location Map:

Address:

  • 3676 W Dorian St Boise Idaho 83705 United States
  • Located south of Overland Road, at the corner of Pacific and Dorian.
  • Language:English

Phone:

  • 1-208-338-3811

E-mail:

  • ID_Boise@ldsmail.net

Open Hours:

  • Monday:9:00am-5:00pm
  • Tuesday:9:00am-5:00pm
  • Wednesday:9:00am-9:00pm
  • Thursday:9:00am-9:00pm
  • Saturday:10:00am-2:00pm
  • September thru May:

Holiday Schedule:

Closed the last two weeks in December:



Calendar and Events

Upcoming Events

Class Schedule

Boise Family Search Center Classes
3676 Dorian St.
Monday, March 31 – 10 a.m. to noon
Finding Temple Names
If you’re wondering how to find names to take to t
he temple when much work has already been
done, this is the class for you. We’ll also review
policies for temple names and how to reserve
names and get temple cards printed.
Monday, April 7 – 10 a.m. to noon
Involving Younger Family Members in Family History
Work
The youth of the Church have been challenged to “F
ind Your Cousins.” This class will have fun
ideas to help you involve your children or grandch
ildren in this important work. We’ll also
discuss how older family members can give the supp
ort youth need to be successful.
Saturday, April 12 – noon to 2 p.m.
Involving Younger Family Members in Family History
Work
The youth of the Church have been challenged to “F
ind Your Cousins.” This class will have fun
ideas to help you involve your children or grandch
ildren in this important work. We’ll also
discuss how older family members can give the supp
ort youth need to be successful.
Monday, April 14 – noon to 2 p.m. – Cleaning Up You
r FamilySearch Family Tree
The FamilySearch Family Tree isn’t perfect because
it is a compilation from many sources. If
you’ve been dismayed with errors you see when you
open up your Family Tree, this class will
give you the know-how to fix the problems – and how
to avoid creating new ones.
Monday, April 21 – noon to 2 p.m. – Using Roots Mag
ic as a Personal Family History Database
Roots Magic is one of several third party software
programs available to help you organize your
family history information. It also interacts with
FamilySearch Family Tree. This class is for those
who are looking for a PAF replacement program or w
ant to know how to use Roots Magic
features.
Saturday, April 26 – 10 a.m. to noon – Finding Our
Cousins
This class is for youth or parents and youth leader
s. Elder Neil L Anderson recently challenged
youth to continue to do temple baptisms and also t
o find family names to take to the temple.
This class will demonstrate how to use FamilySearc
h resources to find those cousins, make
certain they really are your cousins, and then how
to get their names ready for temple

ordinance

Staff Training Meetings


Center Resources

Collections

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.There are about 3000 micro-films on site at all times.
  • Idaho Collection - over 200 books and directories.
  • England Collection - over 400 books including many parish registers.
  • Map Collection Both current and historial

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. 

Hardware and Equipment

  • Computers, printers, copiers, microfilm and microfiche readers are all available.  A microfilm printer saves digital copies toexternal storagedevices.

Center Services

Staff Research Specialties  Many of the staff are highly skilled  in Euorpean and scandnavian research, and in English reasearch.

(Include sections for any other services your center provides. Add additional sections for those services. See the Mesa and Logan FHC pages for examples.)

Resources in the Local Area

(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)

Links

(Include links to other websites of interest to those who visit your center such as links to the city, county and state wiki pages where your center is located.)

Volunteer at the Center

(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:59.
  • This page has been accessed 3,308 times.