Boldre, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Boldre

Guide to Boldre, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Boldre, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Christchurch; New Forest
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Lymington PLU
Registration District Lymington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1596
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordingbridge
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOLDRE (St. John), a parish, in the union of Lymington, partly in the E. division of the hundred of New Forest, and partly in the hundred of Christchurch, Lymington and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 2 miles (N.) from Lymington; including the chapelry of South Baddesley, and the tythings of Battramsley, Pilley with Warborne, Sway, and WalhamptonThere is a place of worship for Particular Baptists.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Boldre parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
BOLDRE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1626-1812


BOYD
1596-1812

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1813-1840
1777-1813

GENUKI
1596-1813

JOIN
1596-1813

PALL
1790-1813


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288797.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 290-295. Date accessed: 20 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  6. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 11 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  7. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,701 times.