Bole, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Bole, Nottinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Bole, Nottinghamshire
Bole St Martin Nottinghamshire.jpg
Bole St Martin Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Gainsborough PLU
Registration District Gainsborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1755
Bishop's Transcripts: 1636
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Bole
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOLE (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Gainsborough, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Gainsborough. [1]

Additional information:

Bole St Martin is an Ancient Parish and part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with Gainsborough Holy Trinity, Lincolnshire which lies on the opposite bank of the River Trent from this parish.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the history of the church Bole St Martin

The church of St Martin has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The church of St John the Baptist Bole is designated by English Heritage as a grade I listed building listed building

Bole Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bole St Martin

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1813-1983 Marriages 1755-1992 Burials 1813-1983 Bishop's Transcripts 1636-1858
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection {{FHL|England%2C+Nottingham%2C+Bole|subject|disp=Bole}

Bailey, Brian. Misterton Scrapbook. The Scrapbook mainly concerns Methodism and was possibly compiled by James Stothard of Misterton, a farmer. He included the Gainsborough (Wesleyan Methodist) circuit which included West Stockwith, Misterton, Beckingham, Walkeringham, Sturton and Bole with a list of members, some starting as early as 1817. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 793/1. Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 121, pages 73-88 with an alphabetical listing. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438900.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Gainsborough Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bole in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Bole/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 December 2014, at 19:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,395 times.