Bolivar County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Bolivar County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Bolivar County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Bolivar County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Bolivar County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 9 February, 1836
County Seat Cleveland
Courthouse
Address Bolivar County Courthouse]
401 S Court Street
Cleveland, MS 38732-2696
Phone: 662.843.2071
Bolivar County Courthouse


Contents

County Courthouse

Bolivar County Courthouse
401 S Court Street
Cleveland, MS 38732-2696
Phone: 662.843.2071


Clerk Circuit Court in Cleveland, Mississippi, has marriage and court records. Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records. Clerk Circuit Court in Rosedale, Mississippi, has marriage records from 1866 and court records from 1870. Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records. Chancery and Circuit Clerks office in both Courthouse. Rosedale records back about 20 years earlier than Cleveland. [1]

Beginning Dates for Bolivar County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1866




History

Parent County

1836--Bolivar County was created 9 February 1836 from the Choctaw Cession. Records are housed in Rosedale and Cleveland.
County seat: Cleveland [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

The second series of marriage books include both white and colored marriages:

  • 1900-1903 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1900-1903. Batch M735541 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1902-1906 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 3 and 4 Index 1902-1906. Batch M735667 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1906-1908 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 5 and 6 Index 1906-1908. Batch M735587 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1908-1911 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 7 and 8 Index 1908-1911. Batch M735598 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1911-1912 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 9 and 10 Index 1911-1912. Batch M735601 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1913-1914 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 11 and 12 Index 1913-1914. Batch M735594 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1914-1916 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 13 and 14 Index 1914-1916. Batch M735599 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Bolivar County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bolivar County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Bolivar County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bolivar County. 
- 1st Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry (Miller's)
Company A - Mississippi Rifles
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company H - Bolivar Troop

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bolivar County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Bolivar County, Mississippi Clerk of Court and are housed at the Bolivar County, Mississippi Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage

Marriage books 4 and 13 are missing from the Family History Library collection. In addition, marriage books 5, 6, 20, 24, and 25 (first series) were apparently skipped when the IGI was created.

  • 1866-1873 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 1 thru 3 Index 1866-1873. Batch M516751 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1883-1885 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 7 and 8 Index 1883-1885. Batch M516753 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1886-1892 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 9 and 10 Index 1886-1892. Batches M516754 and M516755 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1889-1892 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 11 and 12 Index 1889-1892. Batch M734841 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1893-1895 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 14 and 15 Index 1893-1895. Batch M516756 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1896-1898 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 16 and 17 Index 1896-1898. Batch M734867 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1898-1900 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 18 and 19 Index 1898-1900. Batch M735064 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1901-1902 - Bolivar County Marriage Book 21 Index 1901-1902. Batch M734969 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1902-1903 - Bolivar County Marriage Book 22 Index 1902-1903. Batch M734967 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1900-1901 - Bolivar County Marriage Book 23 Index 1900-1901. Batch M734971 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1908-1910 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 26 and 27 Index 1908-1910. Batch M735591 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1910-1914 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 28 and 29 Index 1910-1914. Batch M735539 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1913-1916 - Bolivar County Marriage Books 30 and 31 Index 1913-1916. Batch M735669 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

The second series of marriage books include both white and colored marriages:

  • 1900-1903 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1900-1903. Batch M735541 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1902-1906 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 3 and 4 Index 1902-1906. Batch M735667 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1906-1908 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 5 and 6 Index 1906-1908. Batch M735587 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1908-1911 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 7 and 8 Index 1908-1911. Batch M735598 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1911-1912 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 9 and 10 Index 1911-1912. Batch M735601 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1913-1914 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 11 and 12 Index 1913-1914. Batch M735594 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1914-1916 - Bolivar County White and Colored Marriage Books 13 and 14 Index 1914-1916. Batch M735599 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bolivar County, Mississippi page 378, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14 3.15 3.16 3.17 3.18 3.19 3.20 3.21 3.22 3.23 3.24 3.25 3.26 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:20.
  • This page has been accessed 8,933 times.