Bollington, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.pngBollington

Guide to Bollington, Cheshire family history and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bollington, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bollington owes both the churches of St John the Baptist (Church of England) and St Gregory (Roman Catholic) to the donation of land by the owner of the Shrigley Estates, Mr Turner.

St John The Baptist was created as a parish in 1842 from Prestbury Ancient Parish. Bollington is one of the 35 townships in pre-Norman Prestbury parish.

St Gregory's Roman Catholic Church was built after some years ministry of Father Hall using rented cottages form 1830.The chance to build a permanent church came in 1834.

BOLLINGTON, a township, a chapelry, and a subdistrict in Prestbury parish, Cheshire. The township lies near the river Bollin, the Macclesfield canal, and the Macclesfield and Manchester railway, 3 miles N by E of Macclesfield; and has a post office under Macclesfield. The chapelry is conterminate with the township; and was constituted in 1835. There are an Independent chapel in the early second pointed style, built in 1868, three other dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Bollington St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP (£) = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
Bollington St John the Baptist Parish (1834) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1834-1909
  NONE
1835-1934
  NONE
1835-1938
  NONE
FS BT'S 1844-1893   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
 1841-1893
  NONE
FMP (£)      KN

    KN

1835-1938
1835-1938
NBI

1835-1938

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use maps.familysearch.org/ England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes

 Prestbury, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish church for Bollington.
 Bollington, St. John the Baptist (C of E). Built in 1834, becoming the parish church in 1842. Registers of Baptisms 1834–1975, Marriages 1838–2003 and Burials 1835–2004 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Transcriptions of Burial registers 1835-2004 and memorial inscriptions 1835 to 2012 can be searched free on the parish website  http://www.stoswaldbollington.org.uk/pages/Research.html
 Bollington Cross, St. Oswald (C of E). Built in 1892 as a chapel of ease to St. John the Baptist (and now the parish church following the closure of St John's in 2003). Registers of Baptisms 1908–2001 and Marriages 1937–1988 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. (There are no burials at St Oswald's.)

Bollington is a chapelry in Prestbury parish. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P184/1/1-4, P184/2/1-4, P184/3/1-5.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1834-1958. Marriages, 1838-1898. BRITISH 2107084 Items 7 - 11
Marriages, 1898-1959. Burials, 1835-1937. BRITISH 2107085 Items 1 - 9

St. Oswald's Church, Bollington-Cross, was a chapelry in the parish of Bollington-St. John, near Macclesfield. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P184/14, P184/15/1-2.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1908-1964. Marriages, 1937-1954. BRITISH 2262945 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for Bollington, 1841-1893 Formerly a chapelry in Prestbury parish. Called St. John's Church.
Cheshire Record Office Call Number: EDB 30

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1841-1878, 1888-1890. BRITISH 1647365 Item 4
Burials, 1890. Baptisms, burials, 1891-1893. BRITISH 1647366 Item 1
Transcripts, 1856-1893. BRITISH 1656840 Item 1
Transcripts,  1990. 1841-1855. BRITISH 1656809 Item 5

Non-Conformist Churches

St Gregory's church served the parish until1952 saw the arrival in Bollington of Fr Thomas Osbyrne. He is described as 'perhaps the most dynamic of all Bollington's parish priests'. Notably, in 1957 he pulled down the old church and presbytery and built the present church. In 1962 he also replaced the old school, which reverted to cottages, with a new building in Albert Road. Finally he placed an old army hut behind the church to serve as a parish hall. When he finally left the parish in 1963 he told the people: 'I have always been hard on you. My last act will be a hard one, too: to attend Mass at 6.30 am the day I leave. Many did!

Church registers of St Gregory's Catholic Church (Bollington, Cheshire), 1834-1927 Text in Latin. Cheshire Record Office call no.: Ref. ERC/21/5242/1-3.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1834-1867. Marriages, Nov. 1835-Nov. 1836, 1856-1927. Burials, 1834-1927. BRITISH 2068140 Items 4 - 6
Baptisms, 1856-1867. Marriages, 1856-1927. Burials, 1856-1884. BRITISH 2068257 Item 3
  • Bollington, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), High Street. Built in 1859, closed in 1956. Registers of baptisms 1941–54 amd marriages 1901–1952 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Bollington, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion), Grimshaw Lane. Built c1887, closed in 1956. Registers of baptisms 1889–1956 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Bollington, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Wellington Road. Founded 1808. ReBuilt in 1837 and 1885. Registers of baptisms 1841–1923 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Kerridge, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1895, closed in 1982.
  • Bollington, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Palmerston Street. Built in 1867, closed early 1980s.

Church registers, Bollington Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (Cheshire), 1812-1837 Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London. Bollington Chapel is in the parish of Prestbury.
London P.R.O. nos.: RG-4 series nos. 711, 2148.

Parish Register Content FHL Films
Births and baptisms, 1812-1836. BRITISH 20046 Item 1
Burials, 1831-1837. BRITISH 917110 Item 4
Burials, 1831-1837. BRITISH 1818023 Item 5

Church records for the Wellington Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bollington (Cheshire), 1841-1923 Bollington is in the Prestbury parish. Cheshire Record Office call number: EMS 16/1-2.

Parish Records FHL Film
Baptisms, 1841-1923. BRITISH 2299418 Items 27 - 28

Church registers for Grimshaw Lane New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Bollington (Cheshire), 1889-1956 Bollington Chapel is in the parish of Prestbury. Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 193/1.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1889-1956. BRITISH 2299418 Item 23

Church records for the High Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bollington (Cheshire), 1901-1950 Bollington Chapel is in the parish of Prestbury. Cheshire Record Office call number: EMS 194/2/1-3.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1901-1950. BRITISH 2299418 Items 24 - 26

Church registers for Grimshaw Lane New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Bollington(Cheshire), 1889-1956 Bollington Chapel is in the parish of Prestbury. Cheshire Record Office call number: EMS 193/1.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1889-1956. BRITISH 2299418 Item 23

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  • Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Union

  • Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to <a href="Cheshire Probate Records">Cheshire Probate Records</a> to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 5 February 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 June 2014, at 15:52.
  • This page has been accessed 6,030 times.