Bolney, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png SussexGotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Bolney, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bolney, Sussex
St Mary Magdalene Bolney Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield PLU
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOLNEY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, partly in the hundred of Buttinghill, but chiefly in the half-hundred of Wyndham, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 3¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Cuckfield.[1] Bolney St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex.

Church History Bolney St Mary

The parish church of St Mary Magdalene has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Bolney Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also: Bolney Wikipedia and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-302. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Church records

Bolney, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
BOLNEY PARISH (1541) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1886
1702-1886

FREG 1541-1595 1541-1812 1541-1812
IGI 1541-1812 1886-1894
PALL
1790-1810s

PRTS 1542-1901
1541-1901
1541-1900
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bolney

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

Poor Law Unions

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-302. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  6. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 21:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,726 times.