Bolstone, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Bolstone, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BOLSTONE, a parish, is in the Upper division of the hundred of Wormelow, and in the union and county of Hereford, 6 miles South Southeast from Hereford. [1]

Bolstone was sometimes spelled Boulstone, and refers to Ballingham and Bolstone, Herefordshire, an ancient Parish.

Bolstone is a settlement within the Ancient Parish of Ballingham, Herefordshire.

The Parish Church of St John of Jerusalem dates from the 12th century and was restored in 1877 by W.E. Martin; it has been designated as a grade II listed building [1]

The united benefice of Ballingham with Bolstone now serves the needs of the villages; historical directory and gazetteer entries describe Bolstone as a chapelry annexed to the rectory of Ballingham St Dubricius.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Boulstone


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288823.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.

See Herefordshire Census

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes A-B to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bolstone

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-302. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 933 times.