Bolton le Moors All Saints, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Bolton le Moors All Saints, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

Bolton, Little [All Saints] was created a chapel of ease in 1745 from Bolton le Moors St Peter, Lancashire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Eagley Bank, Little Bolton Lower End, Little Bolton Higher End, and Horrocks Fold. The church closed in 1966. The chapel dedicated to All Saints, in Little Bolton, has been restored, and made a district church.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Bolton Le Moors All Saints chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bolton Le Moors St. Peter to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BOLTON Le MOORS (LITTLE BOLTON) ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1796) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1796-1859 None None
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
LBMD 1837-1886 - part. 1857-1966
BOLTON Le MOORS ST PETER PARISH (1573) Indexes (ancient parish containing BOLTON LE MOORS ALL SAINTS Chapelry) 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS  1573-1660; 1713-1829 1573-1837 None
LOPC 1573-1660 1573-1660; 1813-1938 1573-1660; 1712-1733; 1765-1801
LBMD 1837-1886 1837-1992 1837-1886
AC 1587-1660 1587-1660 1587-1660


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Bolton Le Moors All Saints and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bolton Le Moors St. Peter to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BOLTON LE MOORS ST PETER PARISH page.

Original Records

The Manchester City Library has the following registers housed in its facilities for Bolton- All Saints:


Baptisms-1796-1808- MFPR 1018
Baptisms-1813-1966- MFPR 1925
Baptisms Transcript-1796-1872- Archives L265
Burials-1796-1801- MFPR 1025
Burials-1813-1858- MFPR 1926
Burials Transcript-1796-1858- Archives L265
Marriages-1857-1873- MFPR 1925
Marriages-1873-1966- MFPR 1926

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306919.


Poor Law Unions

Bolton, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bolton le Moors on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-302. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,634 times.