Bolton le Moors St Peter, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Bolton le Moors St Peter, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is a Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Bolton le Moors Parish
Bolton le Moors St Peter, Lancashire
Bolton St Peter Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bolton PLU
Registration District Bolton; Chorley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1573
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolton le Moors
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOLTON-LE-MOORS (St. Peter), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Salford, S.division of the county of Lancaster; comprising the borough and market-town of Bolton, the chapelries of Blackrod, Bradshaw, Harwood, Little Lever, and Turton, and the townships of Anglezarke, Breightmet, Edgeworth, Entwistle, Darcy Lever, Longworth, Lostock, Quarlton, Rivington, Sharples, and Tonge with Haulgh. Other places in the parish include: Great Bolton, Eastern, Gale Paper Works, Great Bolton, Western, Haulgh, High Houses, Longworth, Lostock, Old Hams (Oldhams), Picadilly, Quarlton, Sharples Higher End, Sharples Lower End, Sweet Loves, West, Anglezark, Anglezarke, Bank Top, Belmont, Bolton, Breightmet, Darcy Lever, East, Edgeworth, and Folds, Little Lever, Turton and more. Bolton is about 43 miles south by southeast of the City of Lancaster. There was a Scottish chapel built in 1846 as well as chapels for worship for Baptists, Independents, Unitarians, the Society of Friends, Swedenborgians, Methodists, and Roman Catholics. A French Chapel existed at one time due to the French refugees settling in this town.[1]

For research purposes, here is a Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Bolton le Moors St Peters Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

At a more local level, a countywide online index for Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths may be found at Lancashire BMD--a "must see" web site for obtaining index information and beyond (i.e. the name of the parish of most marriages are provided) for the civil registration time period.

Church records

Online Records 

There is much online content for Bolton le Moors Parish St Peter's Parish and its approximately 35  attached district churches, chapelries, and ecclesiastical parishes--including, baptisms, marriages (and some banns of marriages) and some burials. These records include vital content from the following web sites which include data content from chapel registers as well as from the (St Peter's) parish church itself:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg
BOLTON Le MOORS ST PETER PARISH (1573) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1587-1812 1587-1812 1587-1812
AC 1813-1914 1754-1930 1813-1894
FS  1573-1660; 1713-1829 1573-1837 None
LOPC 1573-1660 1573-1660; 1813-1938 1573-1660; 1712-1733; 1765-1801
LBMD 1837-1886 1837-1992 1837-1886
AC 1587-1660 1587-1660 1587-1660
BOLTON Le MOORS BANK CHAPEL (1754) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
LBMD 1837-1886 1900-1992
BOLTON Le MOORS CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1841) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1841-1886 1844-1933 None
BOLTON Le MOORS EMMANUEL Chapelry (1838) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None 1842-1930
LBMD 1838-1886 - part. 1857-1992 None
BOLTON Le MOORS (GREAT BOLTON) HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1826) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1826-1949 1857-1961 1827-1856
LBMD 1837-1886 - part. 1857-1990 None
BOLTON Le MOORS ST GEORGE Chapelry - see LITTLE BOLTON ST GEO.
 
BOLTON Le MOORS ST MARK Chapelry (1866) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1866-1909 1871-1885 None
AC None None None
LBMD 1866-1886 - part. 1871-1971
BOLTON Le MOORS ST PETER & ST PAUL Chapelry (1836) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None 1836-1880
LBMD 1837-1886 - part. None None
BOLTON Le MOORS (LITTLE BOLTON) ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1796) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1796-1859 None None
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
LBMD 1837-1886 - part. 1857-1966
BOLTON Le MOORS (LITTLE BOLTON) ALL SOULS (1879) Indexes

Baptisms  Marriages Burials
LOPC 1879-1930 1881-1965 1952-1986
AC 1879-1914 1881-1930 1952-1985
LBMD 1879-1886 - part. 1881-1986
BOLTON Le MOORS ST BARNABAS Chapelry (1913) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1913-1930 None
BOLTON Le MOORS ST GEORGE THE  MARTYR Chapelry (1880) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1881-1914
LBMD 1881-1991
BOLTON Le MOORS (LITTLE BOLTON) ST GEORGE Chapelry (1796) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1796-1856 None None
LOPC 1796-1913 None 1796-1904 
LBMD 1837-1886 - part. 1849-1974 None
BOLTON Le MOORS (LITTLE BOLTON) ST JAMES Chapelry (1867) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages  Burials 
LOPC None 1872-1894 None
AC 1863-1914 1872-1930 None
FS None None None
LBMD 1867-1886 - part. 1872-1962
BOLTON Le MOORS ST JOHN Chapelry (1846) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None 1850-1915 None
LOPC 1884-1908 None None
LBMD 1846-1886 - part. 1850-1968 None
BOLTON Le MOORS (LITTLE BOLTON) ST MATTHEW Chapelry (1874) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
LOPC None 1874-1955 None
FS None None None
AC 1874-1913 1876-1930 None
LBMD 1874-1886 - part. 1876-1967
ASTLEY BRIDGE ST PAUL Chapelry (1846) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1845-1881 1848-1879 1848-1877
LOPC 1845-1881  1848-1919 1848-1964
LBMD None 1848-1992 None 
BELMONT ST PETER Chapelry (1850) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
LOPC 1850-1979 1851-1979 1850-1991
FS 1850-1856  None None
AC None None None
LBMD None 1848-1992
BLACKROD ST KATHERINE Chapelry (1592) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1606-1860 1601-1633; 1702-1754  1818-1840, 1855-1863
LOPC 1606-1863 1613-1754 - part. 1818-1863
LBMD None 1838-1992 None
FMP None 1614-1700 None
AC 1606-1701 1606-1701 1606-1701
FREG 1606-1702 1613-1700 1607-1701
BRADSHAW ST MAXENTIUS (formerly ST MARY) Chapelry (1781) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1857-1876 None 1857-1890 
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None 1857-1992  None
BREIGHTMET ST JAMES Chapelry (1846) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS
LBMD None 1872-1992
DARCY LEVER ST STEPHEN & ALL MARTYRS Chapelry (1844) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
LOPC None None None
FS None None None
AC None None None
LBMD 1845-1992
DIXON GREEN ST THOMAS Chapelry (1880) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1878-1910 part. 1880-1915 None
LBMD 1880-1991
FARNWORTH ALL SAINTS Mission Chapel (1880) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1880-1910 None None
LBMD 1880-1992 - part.
FARNWORTH ST JOHN Chapelry (1826) Indexes - formerly in DEANE PARISH [bef. 1847]

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1826-1900 1830-1901 1826-1903
LBMD 1837-1992
FARNWORTH With KEARSLEY ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1870) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS
LBMD 1872-1984
GREAT LEVER ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1879) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1879-1912 1880-1927 None
LOPC 1879-1934 1880-1915 None
AC None None None
LBMD 1880-1960
GREAT LEVER ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1851) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1851-1910 1851-1930 None
LOPC 1851-1906 1851-1924 1851-1966
AC None None None
LBMD 1851-1992
HALLIWELL ST LUKE Chapelry (1871) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1871-1885 None None
LBMD None 1876-1992  None
HALLIWELL ST PETER Chapelry (1840) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages  Burials 
FS  None None  None
LOPC 1840-1924 1848-1957 1840-1965
LBMD None 1848-1992  None
HALLIWELL ST THOMAS Chapelry (1875) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1875-1910 1875-1930 None
LOPC
LBMD 1875-1992
HARWOOD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1840) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None 1846-1992 None
KEARSLEY ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1876) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS
LBMD
LITTLE LEVER ST MATTHEW Chapelry (1791) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1791-1866 None 1811-1813, 1834-1837
LOPC 1791-1931 1838-1951 1791-1950 
LBMD None  1838-1992  None
RIVINGTON Chapelry (1678) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1703-1877 1706-1910 1702-1873
LOPC 1703-1877 1706-1836/banns - 1754-1910 1702-1873
AC None None None
SMITHILL Chapelry (1803) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1803-1825 None None
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
TONGE WITH HAULGH Chapelry Indexes - see Darcy Lever
     
TURTON ST ANN Chapelry (1695) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1719-1885 1718-1732 (partial); 1856-1919 1719-1731;1748-1927 
LOPC 1720-1885 None 1720-1927
LBMD  1837-1896 None
WALMSLEY CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1868) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None 1723-1730 (partial) 1817-1819, 1845-1847, 1871-1876
LOPC 1868-1949 1868-1948 1868-1965
LBMD None 1854-1992 None

Note that there were only two churches allowed to marry couples within the boundary of this large parish. These were--

  • Bolton le Moors St Peter the ancient parish - 1573
  • Rivington Chapelry - 1678


Available Original Records

The Manchester Archives and Local Studies at the Manchester Central Library has most of local collections of Bolton le Moors (including Great Bolton, Little Bolton and its satellite chapelries, district churches and smaller ecclesiastical) parish registers.

Its collections include the ancient parish of Bolton St Peter (Bolton Parish Church) as well as most of its attached chapel of ease, district churches and ecclesiastical parishes which fell within its jurisdictional boundary as follows:

 
Here are the film numbers to St Peter's Parish registers:

Banns-1754-1785- MFPR 1853
Banns-1785-1814- MFPR 1939
Banns-1814-1835- MFPR 1940
Banns-1835-1850- MFPR 1941
Banns-1850-1909- MFPR 1942
Banns-1909-1919- MFPR 1943
Baptisms-1590-1632- MFPR 2154
Baptisms-1632-1656- MFPR 1018 or MFPR 2154
Baptisms-1656-1712- MFPR 1018 or MFPR 2155
Baptisms-1712-1754- MFPR 1018 or MFPR 2155
Baptisms-1754-1785- MFPR 1018 or MFPR 2156
Baptisms-1786-1802- MFPR 1018 or MFPR 2157
Baptisms-1802-1812- MFPR 1018 or MFPR 2156
Baptisms-1812-1817- MFPR 1018
Baptisms-1817-1827- MFPR 1019
Baptisms Private-1825-1835- MFPR 1943
Baptisms-1827-1837- MFPR 1020
Baptisms-1836-1842- MFPR 1836
Baptisms-1842-1849- MFPR 1837
Baptisms-1849-1857- MFPR 1838
Baptisms-1857-1869- MFPR 1839
Baptisms-1869-1882- MFPR 1840
Baptisms-1882-1910- MFPR 1841
Baptisms-1910-1945- MFPR 1842
Baptisms Transcript-1573-1660- 929.3272 B3
Burials-1587-1630- MFPR 2154
Burials-1632-1661- MFPR 2155
Burials-1661-1706- MFPR 1025 or MFPR 2155
Burials-1706-1712- MFPR 1025
Burials-1712-1764- MFPR 1025 or MFPR 2156
Burials-1764-1785- MFPR 1025 or MFPR 2157
Burials-1785-1802- MFPR 1025
Burials-1802-1812- MFPR 1025 or MFPR 2156
Burials-1813-1820- MFPR 1025 or MFPR 1842
Burials-1820-1826- MFPR 1025
Burials-1826-1838- MFPR 1026
Burials-1833-1841- MFPR 1854
Burials-1841-1850- MFPR 1855
Burials-1850-1896- MFPR 1856
Burials Transcript-1573-1660- 929.3272 B3
Marriage Index-1813-1837- Rossendale Fiche B15
Marriage Index-1838-1850- Bolton FHS Fiche
Marriages-1588-1631- MFPR 2154
Marriages-1632-1651- MFPR 2155
Marriages-1651-1657- Archives L243
Marriages-1657-1661- MFPR 2155
Marriages-1661-1712- MFPR 1021 or MFPR 2155
Marriages-1712-1754- MFPR 1021 or MFPR 2156
Marriages-1754-1792- MFPR 1021
Marriages-1792-1816- MFPR 1022
Marriages-1816-1828- MFPR 1023
Marriages-1828-1837- MFPR 1024
Marriages-1837-1841- MFPR 1843
Marriages-1841-1844- MFPR 1844
Marriages-1844-1847- MFPR 1845
Marriages-1847-1850- MFPR 1846
Marriages-1851-1853- MFPR 1847
Marriages-1853-1857- MFPR 1848
Marriages-1857-1867- MFPR 1849
Marriages-1867-1878- MFPR 1850
Marriages-1878-1893- MFPR 1851
Marriages-1893-1938- MFPR 1852
Marriages-1938-1974- MFPR 1853
Marriages-1974-1990- Archives L243
Marriages Transcript-1573-1660- 929.3272 B3


Archives and Studies centre Contact Information:

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers for St. Peter's, Bolton-le-Moors, 1587-1838. Microfilm of original records filmed and formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester. Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L243/1/1/1-3; L243/1/2/1-3.
Searches in St Peter's parish registers ought always to also include searches made in its (St Peter's) chapelries (about 25 of them--depending on the time period- see above)--in order to be thorough in researching in this area.

Records at The Family History Library 

Here just a few of the records of Bolton le Moors St Peter as well a few of its smaller and attached chapelries available at the family History Lbirary:

Content
Film
Marriages, 1816-1828
FHL BRITISH Film
559181
Marriages, 1828-1837
FHL BRITISH Film
559182
Burials, 1661-1826 Includes burials at the following chapelries: Turton, 1759-1812 Lever, 1791-1798 Walmsley, 1793; 1796 All Saints Little Bolton, (now All Saints Church, Bolton-le-Moors), 1796-1800; 1810-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
559183
Burials, 1826-1838
FHL BRITISH Film
559184
Baptisms, 1590-1632; marriages, 1588-1631; burials, 1587-1630. Baptisms, 1630-May 1656.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357975 Items 6 - 7
Baptisms, August 1655-1712; marriages, 1632-1651, 1657-1712; burials, 1632-1706. Baptisms, 1712-January 1754. (another filming)
FHL BRITISH Film
2357532
Baptisms, November 1753-1758; burials, 1712-1758; marriages, 1712-1754. Baptisms and burials, 1802-1812. Baptisms, 1758-1785; burials, 1758-February 1765. (another filming)
FHL BRITISH Film
2357533
Burials, January 1764-1785. Baptisms and burials, 1786-1802. (another filming)
FHL BRITISH Film
2357534 Items 1 - 2






Bishop's transcripts for Bolton-le-Moors, 1573-1872  Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
The name of the parish church is St. Peter's. The town of Bolton is in the parish of Bolton-le-Moors
Many records are in poor condition due to water damage.

Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/17-32

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1573, 1600-1641, 1670-1688. Includes the chapelries of Blackrod and Rivington, 1676-1688.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545445 Item 5
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1689-1770. Includes Blackrod, 1690-1695 and Rivington, 1690-1694.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545446
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1771-1809. Includes Turton, 1771-1789; Bradshaw, 1781, and Walmsley, 1789.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545447
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1810-1821. Includes the chapels of Turton, All Saints in Little Bolton, and Bradshaw.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545448
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1822-1827. Includes Little Bolton (All Saints), Bradshaw, and Walmsley.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545449
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1828-1830. Includes Walmsley, Little Bolton and Bradshaw.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545450
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1831-1834. Includes Walmsley, Bradshaw and All Saints church in Little Bolton.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545451
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1833-1836. Includes Bradshaw, Walmsley and All Saints chapel in Little Bolton.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545452
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1837; baptisms and burials, 1838-1840. Includes All Saints in Little Bolton, Bradshaw and Walmsley.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545453
Baptisms and burials, 1841-1846. Includes the chapels of Walmsley, Bradshaw, All Saints and Holy Trinity (in Great Bolton). (The years, 1844-1845 were too water damaged to film).
FHL BRITISH Film
1545454
Baptisms and burials, 1847-1851. Includes All Saints, Holy Trinity and Bradshaw chapels.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545455
Baptisms and burials, 1851-1855. Includes the chapels of Holy Trinity, All Saints and Bradshaw.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545456
Baptisms, 1856-1869; burials, 1856 and 1865.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545457
Baptisms, 1869-1872.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545458 Item 1


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306919.

Genealogy

Mealing, Kathy:  Wallwork of Bolton.  History and family tree of John Wallwork and Martha Ainsworth, with ancestors from Ireland, Yorkshire, Lancashire, with descendants emigrating to Australia, N.S.W. Family Tree dates from 1809-1957. The following surnames are also on the tree. Kearns Jay, Clinton, Byron, Stanton, Brown, Parker, Thoms, Donnelly, Davis, Boltwood, Moody, Whatson, Allison, Chauney, Perkins. Article in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol.6,no.4,pages 24-25, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Todd, A.A. Lord of Kearsley, Farnworth, Ainsworth, Bolton and Tyldesley. History and family tree of John Lord and Mary surname unknown, dating from 1724-1859, with the following surnames. Watson, Kay Taylor, Grundy, Pickering, Dixon, Thornley, Hardman, Bordman, Smith, Berry, Reece, Whittaker, Isherwood, Ratcliffe, Bowker, Bardburn. In another family tree of Joshua Lord, wife unknown, with family names Gregory, Smith, Whittaker, Halliwell, dating 1746-1831. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, Vol.8. no.3, pages 20-32 Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r

Ashworth, Alf.  The Direct Ancestry of Ashworth/Entwistle of Bolton.  History and family tree of John Alfred Ashworth and Andrew Ashworth and Edna Entwistle, with the following surnames, Roston, Lumb, Hardy, Jones, Lever, Liptrot, Crabtree, Pgh, Richardson, Peniston, Marsh, Prince, Rosbotham, Greenhalgh, Richardson, Hodson, Taylor, Bissett dating from 1783-1955, to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. vol.9,no.2, pages25-30 FHL 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Bolton, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bolton le Moors on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-302. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 14:42.
  • This page has been accessed 14,031 times.