Bolton le Sands, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Bolton le Sands, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bolton le Sands, Lancashire
St Michaels' Church, Bolton-le-Sands.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Caton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1642
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOLTON-LE-SANDS (St. Michael), a parish, in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster; containing the township of Bolton,4 miles (N.) from Lancaster, on the road to Kendal. The church was formerly in the Diocese of Chester, Manchester (1847-1926). Other places in the parish include: Hest, Nether Kellet, Stapleton Farm, Slyne, Slyne with Hest, and Nether Kellett. [1]

The oldest church in the village, founded prior to 1094, is the Church of England Holy Trinity church, originally dedicated to St Michael. The oldest part of the current building is the tower, supposed to have been built around 1500. The nave and chancel date from the 19th century. The other churches are the Roman Catholic St Mary of the Angels and the Christ Church United Reformed Church.

Referred to as Bodeltone in the Domesday book, the village was known as Bolton until the arrival of the railways, when the name was changed to Bolton-le-Sands to differentiate from similarly named towns on the same line, such as Bolton which was then a part of Lancashire and called Bolton-le-Moors.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Bolton le Sands parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
JOIN =Joiner's Marriage Index
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BOLTON Le SANDS HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1642) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1655-1769; 1851-1885 1653-1820 None
LOPC 1737-1902 1653-1896 1737-1920
JOIN 1813-1837
AC 1655-1736 1655-1736 1655-1736
FMP
1573-1837
OVER KELLET Chapelry (1648) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1661-1812 1653-1812 1682, 1689-1778
LOPC 1648-1948 1653-1948 1653-1947
JOIN 1813-1837
AC 1652-1812 1652-1812 1652-1812


Parish Records at The Family History Library
Bolton-le-Sands- Holy Trinity
Parish registers--

Baptisms, marriages and burials on FHL film no. 1849647 Items 11 - 25

Bishop's transcripts--

Baptisms, marriages and burials on FHL film no. 1656767 Items 2 - 4
Baptisms and burials, 1851-1889. on British Film no. 1656768 Item 1
Parish register transcripts--

Baptisms Transcript-1655-1736- 929.3272 B32
Burials Transcript-1655-1736- 929.3272 B32
Marriages Transcript-1653-1736- 929.3272 B32

For the original registers of the above church please enquire at Lancashire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306914.


Poor Law Unions

Caton Gilbert Union,Lancashire

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire from 1869


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

  • 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Bolton le Sands. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692. Includes Nether Kellet, Slyne with Hest.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bolton le Sands on GENUKI

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53281 British History Online

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-181777-holy-trinity-bolton-le-sands British Listed Building

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-302. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.

 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 7,141 times.