Bonaire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bonaire)

Netherlands Gotoarrow.png Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Netherlands Antilles Gotoarrow.png Bonaire

Guide to Bonaire Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

See also Netherlands Antilles (dissolved in 2010).

Kralendijk town and Klein Bonaire.jpg

Bonaire's first inhabitants were the Caquetios Indians, a branch of the Arawakwho, around 1000 AD, sailed from what is now Venezuela.

Country Status

Bonaire is a special municipality of the Netherlands, and is a part of the Caribbean Netherlands, together with Sint Eustatius, and Saba (BES Islands). The United Nations recognizes these three islands as one governmental unit. Before 1910 they were part of the Netherlands Antilles.[1]

Getting started with Bonaire research

Jurisdictions

Spain 1526, Netherlands 1636, Great Britain 1800, Netherlands 1803, Great Britain 1807, Netherlands 1816.[2]

Bonaire's Capital City is (Kralendijk)

You can find other areas and towns on Bonaire Map, which include:

  • Antriol
  • Belnem
  • Hato
  • Lima
  • Noord Salina
  • Nikiboko
  • Republiek
  • Sabadeco
  • Sabana
  • Santa Barbara
  • Tera Cora

Other smaller settlements include

  • Fontein
  • Lagoen
  • Sorobon
  • Spelonk
  • Wanapa

Several smaller towns had existed in the national park, but are now abandoned. They were: Labra, Ishiri, Kokorobi, Jan Doran, Vlijt, Rigot, Porto Spano, and Kunchi.

Research Tools

Featured Content

Did you know?

Slave huts Bonaire.jpg

Both the windward (Christopher Columbus, 1493) and leeward (Alonso de Ojeda, 1499) island groups were discovered and initially settled by Spain. In the 17th century, the islands were conquered by the Dutch West Indies Company and were used as military outposts and trade bases, most prominent the slave trade. Slavery was abolished in 1863.

The oldest citizen of Bonaire Catalina Elisabeth Francisca Paula-Frans, better known as ‘Chabe,’ celebrated her 104th birthday March 16 to March 23, 2007, according to the Bonaire Reporter.

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

References

  1. See the Wikipedia article on the Caribbean Netherlands.
  2. Bonaire in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 30 September 2015).
News and Events

Bonaire and Saba opt for the U.S. dollar as the new official currency as the islands move forward with a new state structure with closer ties to Holland. The sister island of Saba, has also chosen the U.S. Dollar for its official currency. Read more...

Topics
Title
  • (your bullet)



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 December 2015, at 22:40.
  • This page has been accessed 2,309 times.