Bondleigh, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Bondleigh, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bondleigh, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Taunton with Winkleigh
County Devon
Poor Law Union Okehampton PLU
Registration District Okehampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chumleigh
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUNDLEY, or Bondleigh (St. James), a parish, in the union of Oakhampton, hundred of North Tawton, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 2 miles (N. N. W.) from North Tawton. It is situated on the river Taw. There is a place of worship for Bible Christian's.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1607-1637) are online at Internet Archive - free.[2]

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1632-1633) are online at Internet Archive - free.[2]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241323.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 428-431. Date accessed: 14 June 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,905 times.