Boone County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Boone County

Guide to Boone County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Boone County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Boone County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 9, 1869
County Seat Harrison
Courthouse
Address Boone County Courthouse
100 N Main Street
Harrison, AR 72602
Phone: 870.741.8428

Contents

County Courthouse

Boone County Courthouse
100 N Main Street
Harrison, AR 72602
Phone: 870.741.8428

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1869. 
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Boone County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1869 1914* 1869 1869 1869
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1869--Boone County was created 9 April 1869 from Carrol and Madison Counties.  County seat: Harrison [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Carroll  • Marion  • Newton  • Searcy  • Taney County, Missouri

Boone CountyMarion CountySearcy CountyNewton CountyMadison CountyCarroll CountyFranklin CountyBenton CountyBaxter CountyJohnson CountyPope CountyVan Buren CountyOzark CountyTaney CountyStone CountyBarry CountyARBoone.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Boone County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • Ware, Keith. "Boone County hatchery" Boone County historian (Arkansas) - v. 2-3 (2004-2005) - v. 3, no. 4 (Oct./Dec. 2005).
  • Crooked Creek Valley, Arkansas before and during the Civil War : ca. 1827-1865.
  • Logan, Roger V., Jr. Mountain heritage : some glimpses into Boone County's past after one hundred yearsHarrison, Arkansas : Harrison Junior Chamber of Commerce, 1969.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]


  • Pre 1808 - Although they had no communities in the area, the Osage had claims to what would become Boone County until an 1808 treaty.
  • 1812 - The area was part of Missouri Territory.
  • 1869 - The Arkansas legislature created Boone County from Carroll County.
  • 1875 - A portion of Marion County was taken in by Boone County.
  • 1900s - Change came with the arrival of the Missouri and North Arkansas Railroad.
  • 1900-1910 - The African-American population, which had shown limited growth in each census since 1870, decreased from 142 to seven.
  • 1920s-1930s - Hard times forced many families to seek jobs outside the county.

Maps

Military

World War II

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Boone County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1869-1970 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds and letters 1869-1919; Chancery Court records 1870-1891; County court records 1869-1874; Guardian bonds and letters 1869-1914; Probate record index 1869-1970; Probate records 1869-1894; Wills 1872-1926.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Boone County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Societies

Boone County Genealogical Society

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Boone County, Arkansas
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Boone County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Social networking sites pertaining to Boone County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Boone County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Boone County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 December 2014, at 22:39.
  • This page has been accessed 14,979 times.