Borno State, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Borno State

Guide to Borno State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.



Wikipedia has more about this subject: Borno State
Borno State is a state in north-eastern Nigeria. Its capital is Maiduguri. The state was formed in 1976 from the split of the North-Eastern State. Until 1991 it contained what is now Yobe State.

Local Government Areas

Other main towns


The state is dominated by the Kanuri and Babur while few Shuwa Arab ethnic groups are found. Shuwa Arabs are mainly the descendants of Arabized Fulani people and is an example of the endurance of traditional political institutions in some areas of Africa. There, the emirs of the former Kanem-Bornu Empire have played a part in the politics of this area for nearly 1,000 years. The current dynasty gained control of the Borno Emirate in the early 19th century and was supported by the British, who prevented a military defeat for the group and established a new capital for the dynasty at Maiduguri or Yerwa (as referred to by the natives) in 1905, which remains the capital to this day. After Nigerian independence in 1960, Borno remained fairly autonomous until the expansion of the number of states in Nigeria to 12 in 1967. Local government reform in 1976 further reduced the power of the emirs of the former dynasty, and by the time of Nigeria's return to civilian rule in 1979, the emirs' jurisdiction has been restricted solely to cultural and traditional affairs. Today, the emirs still exist, and serve as advisers to the local government.





Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 September 2015, at 14:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,693 times.