Boscobel, ShropshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Boscobel, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Shifnal PLU|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
BOSCOBEL, an extra-parochial district, in the union of Shiffnall, hundred of Brimstree, S. division of Shropshire, 7½ miles (E.) from Shiffnall. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Boscobel is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474584.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 19:27.
- This page has been accessed 638 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki