Bosham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Bosham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bosham, Sussex
Bosham Holy Trinity West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bosham
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westbourne PLU
Registration District Westbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOSHAM (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of West Bourne, hundred of Bosham, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 4 miles (W. by S.) from Chichester; containing, with the tythings of Broadbridge, Creed, Fishbourne, Gosport, and Walton,me Norman details, and later additions: the south aisle was restored, and other improvements effected, in 1845. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Bosham Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish  and included Broadbridge (now called North Bosham) Creed, Old Fishbourne, Gosport and Walton.

A history of the church is available Bosham Holy Trinity

The Saxon church of Holy Trinity beside Bosham quay has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Bosham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

see Bosham Wikipedia for history of the church and Bosham connection with the Bayeux tapestry.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bosham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Bosham, Sussex Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1557-1875 1557-1875
PRTS 1557-1968
1557-1988
1557-1965
SOPC Undefined
Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bosham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census


Poor Law Unions

Westbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 305-309. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,709 times.