Bosley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Bosley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bosley, Cheshire
Church of St Mary the Virgin Bosley.jpg
Church of St Mary the Virgin Bosley
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1728; For more records see Prestbury
Bishop's Transcripts: 1615
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bosley St Mary the Virgin was originally a chapelry in the Ancient Parish of Prestbury.

The church was originally dedicated to St. Thomas a Becket of Canterbury but later this was changed to St. Lawrence and then to St. Mary the Virgin. It was formerly a chapel of ease for Prestbury, and was granted the right to have a font and burial ground by Pope Boniface in a Papal Bull of 5 April 1402 as recorded at Lichfield. The parish registers go back to 1728 and the list of vicars to approximately 1596.

Following the Restoration of the Monarchy in 1660, there were a series of Acts of Parliament designed to punish the Nonconformists and to protect the Church of England.

BOSLEY, is a chapelry, in the parish of Prestbury, union and hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 4¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Congleton. The chapelry is situated on the road from Manchester to Derby.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Bosley St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[3]
Bosley St Mary Parish (1612) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1729-1750

FS PR's 1728-1868
NONE
1730-1750
NONE
1728-1812
NONE
FS BT'S 1612-1903 NONE
1612-1750
NONE
1612-1893
 ; NONE
TGEN
1729-1751

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Prestbury, St. Peter was the ancient parish church for Bosley.
Bosley, St. Mary . An ancient chapelry to Prestbury, becoming the parish church for Bosley in 1883.

Parish registers of Bosley, Cheshire, 1728-1847

Bosley is a chapelry in Prestbury parish.
Cheshire Record Office reference: P42/1/1-2, P42/2, P42/3.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1728-1788. BRITISH 1941869 Item 14
Baptisms, burials, 1788-1847. BRITISH 1941870 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's Transcripts 1617-1893 Some text in Latin. The transcripts are online on Record Search.
Chapelry (now a parish) in Prestbury parish. Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 31

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop's Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in Record Search

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1617, 1619-1623. Baptisms, burials, 1626-1627, 1634-1637, 1639, 1641, 1662-1675, 1677-1681, 1696-1700, 1718-1752, 1755-1857. Baptisms, 1858. BRITISH 1655397 Item 3
Baptisms and burials, 1858-1893. BRITISH 1655398 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches
Bosley - Methodist Chapel.jpg

Bosley, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded 1832. Memorial inscriptions have been published by the FHS of Cheshire (1995).

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield (1837–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bosley on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales (1848). Date accessed: 5 February 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

Bibliography


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 5,145 times.