Bosque County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties B
Bosque County
Guide to Bosque County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
| Bosque County, Texas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 4, 1854 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Meridian |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Bosque County Courthouse PO Box 617 Meridian, TX 76665 Phone: 254.435.2201 Bosque County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1902,
marriage, probate and land record from 1854 and court
records; District Clerk has divorce records[1]
Bosque County has had three courthouses. The first, a one-story log cabin built in the center of town was used until a larger frame courthouse was built in 1869. The 1869 courthouse burned in 1871, causing county government to be conducted from a tent until 1875, when the present three-story stone courthouse was completed.
History
Settled mostly by Norwegians in the western part of the county and Germans in the eastern part of the county.
Parent County
1854--Bosque County was created 4 February 1854 from Milam and McLennan Counties. County seat: Meridian [2]
The county was named for the Bosque River, a name deriving from Spanish for "woods"
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1871--The Bosque County Courthouse, built in 1869, burned.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities and Towns: Clifton | Cranfills | Iredell | Meridian | Morgan | Valley Mills | Walnut Springs
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
Epodunk | |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Bosque County Cemeteries from the Bosque County TXGenWeb site
- Bosque County Cemeteries at Cemeteries of Texas, Gloria B. Mayfield's website
- Boggy Cemetery, Cranfills Gap, Bosque County from Interment.net
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Bosque County Churches - Past and Present from the Bosque County TXGenWeb site
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Bosque County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Bosque County: Land and People (A History of Bosque County, Texas), 1985, by the Bosque County History Book Committee, includes introductory material about the history and geography of the area, community histories, and family histories with genealogical information. Read the book on line from The Portal to Texas History.
- Bosquerama, 1854–1954: Centennial Celebration of Bosque County, Texas, 1954 by the Bosque County Centennial Association.
- A History of Bosque County, 1954 by William C. Pool.
- Bosque Territory, 1964 by William C. Pool.
Maps
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Bosque County, Texas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site
Military
- Military and War information from the Bosque Co TXGenWeb site
- Military Pensions from the Bosque Co TXGenWeb site
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bosque County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Bosque County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers from the Bosque Co TXGenWeb site
Obituaries
Obituaries from the Bosque Co TXGenWeb site
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Births from the Bosque Co TXGenWeb site
- Marriages from the Bosque Co TXGenWeb site
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- TEXAS Genweb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bosque County, Texas. Page 659 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 2 May 2013, at 01:51.
- This page has been accessed 1,643 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

