Botley, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngHampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Botley

Guide to Botley, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Botley, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mainsbridge
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union South Stoneham PLU
Registration District South Stoneham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1781
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southampton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOTLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of South Stoneham, hundred of Mansbridge, Southampton and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 6 miles (S.) from Southampton.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Botley, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
BOTLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1679-1875
1680-1876

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288802.

Genealogy

Chapel People by Abraham, A.G.  Photo of a Bible Christian Chapel where many of the Abraham Family married, includes a history of the family.   A family tree of Henry Abraham of Fordelake 1684 who married Marrie Terrie of Hedge End. Family tree covers from 1684-1950.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 15, no.1, May 1988, pages 18-20. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Abraham, A. G. Transportation For Life.   History of Thomas Abraham born in Hedge End 1820, son of John Abraham (1780-1827) who fell foul of the law in 1837, and was transported to Tasmania, Australia, on the vessel Susan, which sailed from Southampton 29 July, 1837.  There are drawings of the Penal Settlement in Australia, a letter from him living at that time in Fingall, Tasmania to his brother Josiah  and sister in 1877. Also a photo of him taken in Launceston,Tasmania.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XV, no.2, August 1988, pages 107-110, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 309-314. Date accessed: 20 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 15:52.
  • This page has been accessed 2,306 times.